We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One for the bucket list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Overseas Highway

The Overseas Highway
Book In Advance
$49.00*
and up
Key West Day Tour from Miami
Ranked #9 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming 110 mile highway running the length of the Keys.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
428 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“One for the bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Overseas Highway is just one of those "bucket list" things you have to do! If you fly directly into Key West you are missing one of the great road trips. Built largely on the pilings of a railroad that was largely destroyed by a giant storm (sections still remain for walking and fishing) the Overseas Highway is an amazing engineeering achievement that links the keys. My tip would be (if you can) rent a car in Miami and drive to Key West - the experience is well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CastawayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,650
    1,187
    420
    97
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hard to believe you're still in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you can't get enough of beautiful views of turquoise waters stretching to the horizon, this drive is for you. We loved it and can't wait to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GowiththeFlo-rida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved the drive through the keys. Great views and seafood. WE stopped in a little shack right of 35th street on Marathon Key. They had the most amazing seafood.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerryK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
Level Contributor
259 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“long bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

better to take a bus to the keys as the drive can been boring to drive. history of bridge is interesting with tour guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank martin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lots of Hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

At spots, this was a very pretty drive, however most of the area was filled with touristy stuff, run down buildings. Not my favorite drive in the US and if you had to choose between this and something else, I would chose something else.
We drove from Miami down to Key West. Stopping in the everglades, marathon, big pine key, and key west.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapphiremoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overseas Highway also viewed

 

Been to The Overseas Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing