We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great way to "getaway"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Overseas Highway

The Overseas Highway
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Key West Day Trip from Miami with a FREE South Beach Bike Rental
Ranked #7 of 163 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming 110 mile highway running the length of the Keys.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great way to "getaway"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I love driving trips, so when my partner suggested we drive from MIA to Key West, to join friends, I was ready! What a treat. We have never been down in the Keys before, so it was an adventure for both of us. Traveling at night, the roads were well-marked and felt safe. Traveling throughout the day, we stopped at little shops and restaurants along the way. The time went by fast, there was so much to see!
A lovely drive we will repeat!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ordisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,091
    1,368
    474
    106
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern PA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Convertible is the only way to travel on this drive. It is amazing. 42 bridges, beautiful ocean views and the Florida sunshine. The only reason it isn't 5 stars is occasionally you get stuck behind a rv, trailer or bus and some of the towns are anything but scenic. It gets better as you get further south.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Padoc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
188 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What A Road.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

A very interesting drive to Key West.
Water, water, and more water everywhere. Would not want to drive it late at night while I was tired.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TKCRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lost it's lustre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rented a convertible after doing this by Harley twice. With a third person in the car, the top down wasn't as great as I thought. Too much breeze. The views are good but not breathtaking and that sentiment was echoed by a 1st time Harley rider down from Miami as he compared it to other trips around the USA. Good just not great and the traffic is getting bad from Florida City to Key Largo.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of America's great road trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We flew into Miami for our Key West vacation in order to enjoy the 100 or so mile drive to our destination. We loved the tourquoise waters and all the wildlife that abounds. We even sighted a Key Deer as we drove through Big Pine Key. The only thing better would have been to rent a convertible.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pasta888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overseas Highway also viewed

 

Been to The Overseas Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing