We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bucket List drive”

The Overseas Highway
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Key West Day Trip from Miami with a Free South Beach Bike Rental
Ranked #7 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming 110 mile highway running the length of the Keys.
Maryville, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bucket List drive”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

You need to drive this road from Miami all the way to Key West once in your lifetime. Seen in movies, the views from the high spots on the bridges are incredible. Plan on driving slow...it's just 2 lanes most of the way. Avoid the Friday night trip south, and Sunday night headed north because of horrific traffic. Take your time, enjoy the beauty. Mir you go in a convertible you'll be sunburned by the time you get half way there but it's worth it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KelSchMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,252
    1,434
    486
    107
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not a scenic highway”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The seascape is very nice. Only this.
I´m expecting a luxuriuous landscape, like some roads in Europe or Brazil.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarciaFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“a beautiful ride”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

What fun to "Do the Drive" through the famous Florida keys!. We took turns driving so that we could see it all . Leave time to pull off and explore some of the tremendous variety of resorts, and inlets along the way. The "bayside" is quite different from the "oceanside". This is truly a road where getting there is half the fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeeSmellTasteTouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Drove in from Miami and flew out of key west. I am glad we did the drive down. We left on a sunday so we were headed against traffic. We were able to stop along the way. It was amazing to stop and the see the key deer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SDTOMEGA2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Road Trip!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

You'll never experience a road trip like this one. Beautiful aqua waters on each side of you. Just a beautiful (if not long) ride.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overseas Highway also viewed

 

Been to The Overseas Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing