We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a scenic highway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Overseas Highway

The Overseas Highway
Book In Advance
$49.00*
and up
Self Guided Key West Day Trip from Miami
Ranked #7 of 159 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming 110 mile highway running the length of the Keys.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not a scenic highway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The seascape is very nice. Only this.
I´m expecting a luxuriuous landscape, like some roads in Europe or Brazil.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarciaFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,808
    1,243
    438
    99
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“a beautiful ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

What fun to "Do the Drive" through the famous Florida keys!. We took turns driving so that we could see it all . Leave time to pull off and explore some of the tremendous variety of resorts, and inlets along the way. The "bayside" is quite different from the "oceanside". This is truly a road where getting there is half the fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeeSmellTasteTouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Drove in from Miami and flew out of key west. I am glad we did the drive down. We left on a sunday so we were headed against traffic. We were able to stop along the way. It was amazing to stop and the see the key deer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SDTOMEGA2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Road Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

You'll never experience a road trip like this one. Beautiful aqua waters on each side of you. Just a beautiful (if not long) ride.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Road Trippin'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I thought that the trip from Key West to Miami would be more over the open water, but as a midwesterner, I was super surprised at all the keys!

A personal fan of road trips, this was no different. If you have the chance, rent a convertible (we did), and soak in the sunshine as you travel.

A lot of the scenery is beautiful where you're literally crossing the ocean; however, along the highway it's kind of run down. (Think boarded up shops, seedy-looking bar/restaurants, and po-dunk gas stations).

We didn't really venture off the highway until our stopping point in Key Largo, so perhaps we missed some of the charming, waterfront places, but oh well. It gives us an excuse to do it all over again!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overseas Highway also viewed

 

Been to The Overseas Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing