We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good ideal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant

Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 430 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Full service dessert restaurant featuring beer & chocolate dipped wines, and coffees.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me and the husband dropped the kids off at the sitter and hit the town.....had an hour wait ..but they texted us when they were ready..found that cool....loved the cheese cake....had few beers..and wine...wished they had a full bar..that would have been better...waitress was good but she came to the table way to much..felt very rushed to eat and leave..so I give them 4 stars..slow down let me enjoy my food and money I'm spending lol

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnice62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,253
    545
    183
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ssssh...I faked my first dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have never been to a place like this. It only opens late evening and only serves dessert and alcohol. All the cakes are home made by recipes passed down through three generations of family. It's dark. Your menu is back lit, and you get handed a torch when you sit down, in case you need to see anything other than the menu. If you like innuendo named desserts, this is the place for you. If you like a double entendre, then ask your waitress, I'm sure she'll give you one. Great desserts, intimate setting. If you like sweet things, you should go. But here's the truth: It's NOT better than sex. If you think it is, you're doing it with the wrong person. And be warned that the desserts are so rich, if you go here thinking it's the warm up act for some late night lovin', you'll be disappointed. You leave this place feeling so full and with an impending sugar crash, that you won't be in any condition to fully enjoy the midnight hour. The only people making sweet music here, are the chefs in the kitchen. A great place though and well worth a visit. Adults only probably, to save you having to explain the menu to your kids. They have more sex references on it, than the Kama Sutra. Google it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hotell_the_truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent desserts in fun atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved the desserts (we had cheesecake)!! We stopped by one night on a whim and they were booked up but we were able to get reservations for the next night no problem. I loved the atmosphere; very couple friendly. However it was difficult to feel too in the moment with the numerous "tween" girls that came in with parents dressed in cut-offs and tees. :( I was dressed up for my husband as were many other women. This definitely spoiled the mood. My only other observation was that the female servers were graceful; the men could use a little more finesse. We didn't appreciate one of the male servers reaching across us to take our sugar & creamer without an "excuse me" or even asking if we were done. My advice - don't take the place too seriously. Go there to have fun; don't worry about what to wear and enjoy the AWESOME desserts!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

What does bordello decor, incredibly low lighting, huge dessert portions and a blush-inducing menu add up to? A fun and memorable evening. Okay, the prices may be a bit hight and for a dessert restaurant, the dishes were not out of this world creations, but they were still very tasty and visually pleasing. It is certainly worth the splurge (calorically and financially) for a unique experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique place - worth trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My kids were very geared up to go, friends had been there and highly recommended. Reservations are tough, so need to plan a few days in advance. Interior is very dark (bordello like theme..) , Menus are lighted, creative and fun (and huge) desserts. Not too raunchy - my kids are 17 and 12, it was fine for them. Younger kids would need parents to order for them - too much to explain...:)

Trivia games are fun while you wait. It's not cheap...about $80 for 4 people in our case. You pay for the fun and experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing