We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime beauty....”
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
Ranked #27 of 177 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sublime beauty....”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A stroll thru the cemetary is a great respit from the hustle of the city. Besides the more noted epitaphs on the gravesites, don't miss the wit on the above ground mausoleums visible from outside the fence on Olivia St. just "east" of Windsor.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluebulletguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    415
    171
    43
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historical Must”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you want a touch of Key West history, this is a must-see. They're re-paving the gravel paths, making it an even more enjoyable walk.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Onedukeof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boneyard”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A nice place to visit, go running in, and salute the dead of the USS Maine at the Memorial right near the main entrance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sounds odd to some, but others understand.. Walking through this cemetery gives me a solemn, peaceful feeling.. It is filled with history and times gone by.. I truly enjoy the time I spend walking through here, and will do it at every visit to Key West, always have.. So no worries, take the time and feel the calm..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama Province, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Gate open but wasn't open”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I only gave this an average score because while the sign said it would be open and the gate was open, we weren't allowed to walk around. An interesting cemetery but due to land shifts, it looks to be in disrepair. A lot of overgrown grass and tilted, cracked ground stones (this adds to the eeriness of it all though). I wanted to be able to walk through it to read the epitaphs and did not see the entrance until I had walked the perimeter of it, so I was disappointed that they wouldn't allow me to go in and view. I think it needs some sprucing up and hope they will tidy it soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlliTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing