We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quirky little tombstones in a New Orleans Style graveyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quirky little tombstones in a New Orleans Style graveyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

New Orleans isn't the only place where they bury their dead above ground. In the Keys because of the Coral and the stoney earth they bury their dead above ground. Worth a visit to see the tombstones which are just as quirky as their live residents.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreMcBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    341
    135
    36
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spooky and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want to scare your guests go when the sun starts to go down and listen to sounds which are difficult to identify. Don't wear any scarves around your neck, or any other loose fabrics--you might feel someone tugging, trying to draw you in.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Must be able to walk!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Unless you have a scooter or bike, you will need to walk thru and it was way too hot to do so. We drove around the perimeter, but would have liked to see more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebagel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Larger than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We probably would have enjoyed this more and spent more time had we not walked from the cruise port, to the southern-most point, and then to the cemetery. We were pretty beat by then. The cemetery was so large, it was a bit overwhelming, and we only strolled down a few lanes before heading back to the cruise port. Maybe make this your first stop rather than your last to enjoy it more. Or take a taxi! I know it's historical but, other than the victims of the "Maine," did not recognize any names in the free brochure at the entrance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TampaTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Needs Some Tending, But Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I walked through this cemetery following the self-guided tour map that is available for free from the box at the office at the main gate. We found the information in the guide interesting, but it was very hard, if not impossible, to locate all the highlighted graves. I would suggest that the folks that oversee the cemetery place small, discrete numbers corresponding with the guide's numbers by each of the plots. I suspect that no one would find that offensive and it would certainly aid folks in following the tour. There were several places that we were interested in seeing that we were not able to locate even though we thought we were in the exact location marked on the guide's map. We also noted that many of the graves are not very well tended with weeds growing in many of the plots. However, it was interesting seeing a snippet of Key West history and, as others have noted, some of the epitaphs are moving and funny. Also, keep an eye out for the iguana that appeared to be living near the main gate.

Helpful?
Thank SOCIAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing