We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Interesting headstones and history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
Ranked #25 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Interesting headstones and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Surprisingly large considering the size of Key West, but it does go back almost 200 years. Some interesting headstones with "funny" epitaphs...and it is a quiet place amidst a generally noisy town. Good for a walk around the grounds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    352
    140
    38
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Probably interesting historically but visually...not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nothing special in the monuments and the plantings are pretty sad. I admit, I didn't read many headstones/monuments. The general historical context was apparent--jam-packed together with newer sections looking bit like the motel rooms on A1A. Be warned-no usable shade.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Don't miss this. Take the tour if possible. Interesting graves, stories and epitaphs. Loved the pet burials.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank olliesmom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Graves above ground”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I just passed this cemetery on one of the tour buses.

Don't think it is somewhere I would visit, as a cemetery is not of much interest to me.

It is however notable that all graves are above ground due to the geography of the area (not much soil). I think seeing it from a tour bus was enough for me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WestIndian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as funny as I thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had read about this cemetary in my guide book that it had some really funny quotes on the gravestones, like the famous one "I told you I was sick". But we didn't see any other. We got a map at the main entrance. It had some information about the graves of famous Key West-people and a couple of tragically killed people. We had to go further so we didn't had time to go around the whole cemetary. It was a little dissapointing to not find any of the "funny quotes" that we were promised in our book, but at least we got to see a cemetary that seemed to be a typical old one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank D4N13L_L3NN4RT550N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing