We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting headstones and history”
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
Ranked #28 of 177 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Interesting headstones and history”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Surprisingly large considering the size of Key West, but it does go back almost 200 years. Some interesting headstones with "funny" epitaphs...and it is a quiet place amidst a generally noisy town. Good for a walk around the grounds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    415
    171
    43
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Probably interesting historically but visually...not so much”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nothing special in the monuments and the plantings are pretty sad. I admit, I didn't read many headstones/monuments. The general historical context was apparent--jam-packed together with newer sections looking bit like the motel rooms on A1A. Be warned-no usable shade.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Don't miss this. Take the tour if possible. Interesting graves, stories and epitaphs. Loved the pet burials.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank olliesmom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Graves above ground”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I just passed this cemetery on one of the tour buses.

Don't think it is somewhere I would visit, as a cemetery is not of much interest to me.

It is however notable that all graves are above ground due to the geography of the area (not much soil). I think seeing it from a tour bus was enough for me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WestIndian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as funny as I thought”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had read about this cemetary in my guide book that it had some really funny quotes on the gravestones, like the famous one "I told you I was sick". But we didn't see any other. We got a map at the main entrance. It had some information about the graves of famous Key West-people and a couple of tragically killed people. We had to go further so we didn't had time to go around the whole cemetary. It was a little dissapointing to not find any of the "funny quotes" that we were promised in our book, but at least we got to see a cemetary that seemed to be a typical old one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank D4N13L_L3NN4RT550N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing