We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Graves above ground” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
Ranked #27 of 163 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Graves above ground”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I just passed this cemetery on one of the tour buses.

Don't think it is somewhere I would visit, as a cemetery is not of much interest to me.

It is however notable that all graves are above ground due to the geography of the area (not much soil). I think seeing it from a tour bus was enough for me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WestIndian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    383
    159
    40
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as funny as I thought”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had read about this cemetary in my guide book that it had some really funny quotes on the gravestones, like the famous one "I told you I was sick". But we didn't see any other. We got a map at the main entrance. It had some information about the graves of famous Key West-people and a couple of tragically killed people. We had to go further so we didn't had time to go around the whole cemetary. It was a little dissapointing to not find any of the "funny quotes" that we were promised in our book, but at least we got to see a cemetary that seemed to be a typical old one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank D4N13L_L3NN4RT550N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting Walkthru!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We rode our bicycles through this cemetery and it was a great experience. In some cases sad because of the age at death of some of its residents.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreamweaver227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was on a historic trolley tour and this is a place we stopped. It was pretty neat to see the above ground vaults and the grouping of families in these vaults.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pinecrickchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pete, Fl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We loved the cemetary. We saw dates back to the mid 1800's and whole families together. We even saw a live iguana!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sherbear1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing