We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Lot of Walking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
701 Passover Lane, Margaret and Angela Streets, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 6718
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
New York, USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Lot of Walking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pick up a map in a mailbox on the door. Don't ask the man inside the office - he gets annoyed. We walked all over and many of the graves sites are interesting the history of Key West is laid out before you.
One epitaph says I told you I was sick!
The original cemetery was at the waterside but was flooded and so this one is on a higher spot and the coffins are in cement containers in double and triple stacks.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OmaAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    341
    135
    36
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Neat Place Full of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was amazing to see the history in this cemetery. There were sailors from The Maine which most captivated my interest. There were also graves for locals, rich and poor, as well as foreign nationals. I wish I would have had more time to walk around and explore. They have helpful guides and maps at the entrance.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank checht96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A Walk Through Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I cut through the cemetery and we were glad we did. There is a rich history of the various residents of Key West.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chadisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very old, historic cemetery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It is amazing how hold this cemetery is. You won't believe who is buried here! I'm not going to tell you! Have a cocktail and go!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MMA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very cool cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoyed the walk through the cemetery. There is a section of the cemetery devoted to sailors on the USS Maine, and some very old graves. Many of the tombstones are interesting!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing