We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very old, historic cemetery!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
Ranked #26 of 159 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very old, historic cemetery!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

It is amazing how hold this cemetery is. You won't believe who is buried here! I'm not going to tell you! Have a cocktail and go!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MMA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    361
    150
    40
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very cool cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoyed the walk through the cemetery. There is a section of the cemetery devoted to sailors on the USS Maine, and some very old graves. Many of the tombstones are interesting!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kinky Cemetary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a really different cemetary where most crypts are above ground. They even have three story crypt "motels". The best part about it is the crazy epitaphs written on many tombstones. However there are no guided tours that I know of.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BufaloBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“WOW!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a must see for first timers you get a feel for the real Key West. and stop by the ladies resting place that sais See I Told you I Was Sick!!! you will remember this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
180 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pick up the Guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I am so glad the grounds keeper told us about the map. It is a neat little brochure with a map of the cemetery and also interesting facts about symbols on the tombstones. It is a peaceful place to just roam. If you are from up North like us then it will interesting to see above the ground graves. Just a nice little side diversion to get away from the crowds.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ManyMilesStill2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing