We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just pristine!”

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Ranked #27 of 132 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is like a hidden gem - I absolutely loved Key West.... it's not as crowded as South beach... shallow calm water lets you go down more than a mile or so.... tiny rocky peninsulas little far from beach let's you swim there & climb on them....

The BAD - beach is too rocky to walk so be very careful!!! as the sharp rocks under the water may hurt bad! Carry aquatic shoes is possible.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank Romila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"water shoes"
in 337 reviews
"concession stand"
in 241 reviews
"nice beach"
in 355 reviews
"rocky beach"
in 111 reviews
"picnic area"
in 91 reviews
"best beach on the island"
in 51 reviews
"chairs and umbrellas"
in 94 reviews
"civil war"
in 108 reviews
"rode our bikes"
in 56 reviews
"small fee"
in 54 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 90 reviews
"fish"
in 309 reviews
"snorkel gear"
in 78 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 92 reviews
"watch the sunset"
in 118 reviews
"interesting history"
in 55 reviews
"mallory square"
in 127 reviews
Filter

3,691 - 3,695 of 5,966 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved the tour of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park. I think it cost my husband and I around $9.00 for both of us to enter park. Great price since the beach is a hidden gem! We toured the Historic State Park and then changed into our snorkel gear and swam to the rocks where we saw a vast assortment of fish. The water is clear. There is also a little snack bar for drinks and food. It was just a lovely time. Very enjoyable. If you decide to take the tour, remember to take your swim gear!!!!! oh and look for the enormous lizards at the fort. !

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank TV1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I assume we expected too much of Key West. The fort is interesting to visit, but rather small (especially compared with Fort Jefferson on Dry Tortugas). The park as a whole is almost all that Key West offers for nature enthousiasts and it can be disappointing: the first thing you notice after you start walking in the park is that it won't be long before you reach the other side of it. The beach, like other Key West beaches, is not a great beach. Even though, the park is definitively worth a visit to get away from the hustle and cheap tourism of Duval Street.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank A1205CRolivierr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you want to go to the best beach on the island, this is it. It will cost you a few dollar to enter, but well worth it.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the best beach area Key West has to offer. Bring a pair of water shoes because the rocks can be hard on your feet! Good snack bar has a verity of sandwiches and salads that are well priced. Each day at 12:00 noon the park ranger offers a tour of the old fort ruins which is well worth the time spent!

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing