We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Deserves the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$20*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #14 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Savona, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Deserves the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice clean beach inside, you can rent chairs. Bar available as well. Enjoyed to walk here from our Hotel close to duval Street on a Sunny March

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaolaSavona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,886
    1,324
    495
    107
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marine City, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Sunset Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the place to be at sunset. There are spectacular photo opportunities here with the tall ships going by (sunset cruises) and the palms. Very beautiful. Also some interesting facts about President Taylor, the Civil War and the Fort--while you're waiting for the sunset!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Nice Park and Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We checked out the Historical Fort and brushed up on the History of it. There is only a small fee to get in .The white, sandy Beach is great. There are BBQ Pits under the Cypress Trees . We had a little cook-out, went swimming in the turquoise water, and had an inexspensive, lovely day!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really fun snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to Key West a few times and this is the first time we went to the State Park. We were missing out! We had a great time snorkeling (3 kids, ages 11-15)...we saw lots of fish, moray eel and it was around these rocks close to shore. Nice beach for Key West (since they are not known for their beaches. ) The fort closes at 5 so we missed seeing the fort but will for sure come back to see it some day....looks neat!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sllarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good to see once.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice to explore once. Not a lot to see and more information should have been there so we understood what we were looking at. A lot of people goofing off there which made it uncomfortable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing