We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun snorkeling!”

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.00*
and up
Key West Sunset Champagne Cruise
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
More Info
$107.42*
and up
Key West Island Helicopter Tour
Ranked #13 of 175 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really fun snorkeling!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to Key West a few times and this is the first time we went to the State Park. We were missing out! We had a great time snorkeling (3 kids, ages 11-15)...we saw lots of fish, moray eel and it was around these rocks close to shore. Nice beach for Key West (since they are not known for their beaches. ) The fort closes at 5 so we missed seeing the fort but will for sure come back to see it some day....looks neat!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sllarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,535
    1,669
    619
    127
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good to see once.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice to explore once. Not a lot to see and more information should have been there so we understood what we were looking at. A lot of people goofing off there which made it uncomfortable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great picnic & swim fun”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The fort itself is really interesting but the beach there is real nice. Plenty of room for picnic, BBQ's or just fun in the sun! Worth the small admission price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NWGAL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't put your towel down here...”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wife and i loved the park itself but the nasty attitude by the 'umbrella rental' guy was not what we would have expected - you can't put your towel there - those people have the space around the umbrella...what??

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank calvin_stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed an afternoon at the park”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We wandered around the old fort before meandering down to the beach and sitting and relaxing for a while. It made for a nice afternoon. The top of the fort has some great views.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RisaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing