We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this in Key West”

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.69*
and up
Key West Sunset Champagne Cruise
Ranked #13 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this in Key West”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a real find. The beach was smallish, but nice. Plenty of trees to hang a hammock. We had no problem finding a picnic table. Scenic walking trails. We could watch the cruise ships docked nearby with all of their passengers rushing off to Duval Street or guided tours, never realizing that they were already in the best area in Key West.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jadite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,420
    1,634
    604
    124
    38
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Lakes
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We took a tour and learned a lot about the history of the park. The guide was great. It was blazing hot and we left after about 45 minutes because of the heat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tocoolforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kent, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Beautiful beach/park area to spend the day. Beach is little rocky so take a chair or you have to sit further from the water.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bettie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best beach in town!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We rode bikes around to visit many beaches of Key West and hands-down liked this beach the best for views, concessions and sunsets! We loved the beach - breathtakingly beautiful, clean and fun!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simply: Paradise!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

You can spend the day touring the Fort, the tour guides are very knowledgable. Laying on the Beach is heavenly. Or, simply hiking the entire Park with a camera can leave you with gorgeously filled memory card. This is a National Treasure. I particularly enjoy the "Art on.the Beach" displays, if lucky enough to visit when it is occurring!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnKare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing