We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WOW, wish we'd discovered this two trips ago!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #16 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“WOW, wish we'd discovered this two trips ago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Kind of a long walk, next time we'll take a pedicab but it's a lovely spot. Two chairs and an umbrella for 30 bucks. Awesome way to spend the afternoon!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gudewich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,988
    1,410
    520
    112
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stopped by the beach one afternoon. It was a great beach to just sit and relax. There are benches and barbecues and a food stand (not great but it's something). The view is what made me happy. Beach itself was rocky, but I was warned about that before hand.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank terithecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, IL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

we were told by locals this was the best beach and very quiet.....yes it was pretty quiet but thats about all I liked about it. First, its kinda had a weird entrance, the beach was very rocky--had to leave your shoes on all the time, hard to find a place to put your towel and lay out with so many rocks...very uncomfortable, the water was pretty but it seems liked after a few feet it dropped off.....we did not go to the fort so I cannot comment on that, they do have a little smack bar there so that was good...it cost $2.50 to get in..not bad...I would not go back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lockportlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Amazing beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Third trip to Key West and first time I heard about this beach! Well worth the admission into the park for the scenery, soft sand, umbrellas and milepost markers!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCGal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“60th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friends through me a 60th Birthday celebration at the park.
We cooked out enjoyed looking at the ocean. Flew a kite. The facilities were immaculate. Had a great time would recommend to everyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ctoppino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing