We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, wish we'd discovered this two trips ago!”

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.00*
and up
Key West Sunset Champagne Cruise
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
More Info
$107.42*
and up
Key West Island Helicopter Tour
Ranked #13 of 174 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“WOW, wish we'd discovered this two trips ago!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Kind of a long walk, next time we'll take a pedicab but it's a lovely spot. Two chairs and an umbrella for 30 bucks. Awesome way to spend the afternoon!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gudewich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,526
    1,666
    617
    126
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stopped by the beach one afternoon. It was a great beach to just sit and relax. There are benches and barbecues and a food stand (not great but it's something). The view is what made me happy. Beach itself was rocky, but I was warned about that before hand.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank terithecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, IL
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“only OK”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

we were told by locals this was the best beach and very quiet.....yes it was pretty quiet but thats about all I liked about it. First, its kinda had a weird entrance, the beach was very rocky--had to leave your shoes on all the time, hard to find a place to put your towel and lay out with so many rocks...very uncomfortable, the water was pretty but it seems liked after a few feet it dropped off.....we did not go to the fort so I cannot comment on that, they do have a little smack bar there so that was good...it cost $2.50 to get in..not bad...I would not go back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lockportlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Amazing beach!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Third trip to Key West and first time I heard about this beach! Well worth the admission into the park for the scenery, soft sand, umbrellas and milepost markers!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCGal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“60th Birthday Party”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friends through me a 60th Birthday celebration at the park.
We cooked out enjoyed looking at the ocean. Flew a kite. The facilities were immaculate. Had a great time would recommend to everyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ctoppino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing