We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #16 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Amazing beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Third trip to Key West and first time I heard about this beach! Well worth the admission into the park for the scenery, soft sand, umbrellas and milepost markers!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCGal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,988
    1,410
    520
    112
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“60th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friends through me a 60th Birthday celebration at the park.
We cooked out enjoyed looking at the ocean. Flew a kite. The facilities were immaculate. Had a great time would recommend to everyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ctoppino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a highlight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The beach here was ok. It was too murky to enjoy swimming or snorkeling and the Fort was in the midst of a Civil War re-enactment, so that was cool. We did not take the tour (time constraints) which would have helped the experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great place to spend a day and get some sun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We walked into the park, entrance cost us $2.50 apiece. We took a very pleasant walk down one of the trails then walked the beach. One major warning - lots and lots of rocks on the beach. You do NOT want to walk barefoot on this beach! The water was great.

We rented snorkeling gear from the kiosk ($13 per person for mask, snorkel and fins). There are 3 rock groups that you can snorkel around. The water goes to about 6-8 feet deep once you get past the first 20 feet or so. In spite of a really windy day we saw lots of cool fish and got some good pictures. Looking forward to a repeat visit.

Another warning - you can rent chairs and umbrellas...very expensive and they can't be moved around. I would avoid this.

Highly recommend a visit to this picturesque park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank danrodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Spend the day here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We enjoyed exploring the old fort, and the beach here.
The beach has a rather extensive concession stand and picnic tables under the trees......Perfect way to spend the day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Serenity_Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing