We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best beach in Key West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
$38.69*
and up
Key West Sunset Champagne Cruise
Ranked #14 of 163 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Dallas,Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best beach in Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you like solitude this is the only beach that I have found in Key West that you can truly find this. Nice sand. A little rocky when you first get in the water but fine after that. Nice affordable snack bar with supprisingly good food. Controlled by the parks service security is never a problem.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,143
    1,496
    563
    120
    37
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for the tender foot but great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The beach isn't necessarily sandy, but really nice place to spend the day in Key West. Spend the money to rent and umbrella and chairs. Great concessions, clean bathrooms and wonderfully relaxing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We visited the fort, but didn't make it to the guided tour. Still, it was interesting to walk around, see the views, and we got a lot of the fort's historical detail from the signs posted around the different areas. We attempted to spend some time on the beach, but high winds that day made it very unpleasant, so we didn't stay long.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank halfcafqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice beach and lots of rocks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The beach is nice, but lots of rocks, make sure you were those beach shoes.The concession at the beach offer some beers,wine and sandwiches. There are restrooms,shower and picnic tables, but no alcohol on the sand.they charged $7.00 for two on moped. We rented beach chairs for $10 each, they also have umbrellas, and snorkel gear.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Braziliantravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Snorkeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had planned to check this beach out, and we did. There is an admission of a few dollars (2.50), and two of us took the Fort Zachary Taylor tour, and found it a little thin in terms of information and enthusiasm.
The beach is in the same area, and we were told it is the only beach that the locals frequent. There are picnic tables, and concessions, and equipment rentals. We rented snorkeling equipment, and swam around. Yes, you should wear shoes for getting into the water, since the rocks are pretty sharp. The water that day was a little green and cloudy, but we went in December. My daughter got a feeling for snorkeling, and that's what I was looking for.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RichGTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing