We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth a visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
Ranked #15 of 159 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We visited the fort, but didn't make it to the guided tour. Still, it was interesting to walk around, see the views, and we got a lot of the fort's historical detail from the signs posted around the different areas. We attempted to spend some time on the beach, but high winds that day made it very unpleasant, so we didn't stay long.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank halfcafqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,066
    1,456
    542
    116
    37
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice beach and lots of rocks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The beach is nice, but lots of rocks, make sure you were those beach shoes.The concession at the beach offer some beers,wine and sandwiches. There are restrooms,shower and picnic tables, but no alcohol on the sand.they charged $7.00 for two on moped. We rented beach chairs for $10 each, they also have umbrellas, and snorkel gear.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Braziliantravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Snorkeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had planned to check this beach out, and we did. There is an admission of a few dollars (2.50), and two of us took the Fort Zachary Taylor tour, and found it a little thin in terms of information and enthusiasm.
The beach is in the same area, and we were told it is the only beach that the locals frequent. There are picnic tables, and concessions, and equipment rentals. We rented snorkeling equipment, and swam around. Yes, you should wear shoes for getting into the water, since the rocks are pretty sharp. The water that day was a little green and cloudy, but we went in December. My daughter got a feeling for snorkeling, and that's what I was looking for.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RichGTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Most go for the beach but the fort is nice to explore. If you want to try some fun shadow, light, focus playing with your photos lots of interesting parts to play with

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 614Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Went here off the cruise ship”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stopped in Key West on a cruise and after touring the city, we stopped here for a swim. It was a few dollars to get in the gate, and we walked down the road and onto the beach. Everything was great, except there were a lot of sharp shells as you enter the water, but that didn't stop us! Visibility was good, and the water a bit chilly (March) but it was fun. I would go back to this beach in a heartbeat. I briefly lost my sunglasses in the water, but a kind fellow found them as the washed up and returned them. There is a webcam of this beach available online if you search google.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing