We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best beach in Key West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
Ranked #14 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best beach in Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent some time checking out the fort this trip, which was really interesting. The beach is beautiful. The picnic area is attractive and well maintained, and the restrooms are clean. We skipped the Mallory Square sunset one evening and watched from the quiet of the park. Well worth the small entrance fee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fremontkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,071
    1,458
    542
    116
    37
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mildly Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Fort is not in great shape and there is not a lot left to it. However, the cost is $2.50 pp to walk into the park, so for the money its a decent site to visit. It doesn't take long to see the fort, about 20 minutes or so. However, you can visit the beaches, have a picnic, etc. so it can be a nice day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LBTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Would have preferred to have either a guided tour or a brochure as I didn't learn as much as I would have liked. Having said that, we didn't have lots of time so our quick tour worked out alright for us.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to catch the sunset”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The fort itself is okay. Not much to see. The weekend we visited the pirates had invaded it which gave it a little more color and made it interesting. The adjacent park was nice with a picnic area to enjoy the sunset. The beach is rocky and full of seaweed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunandsandseeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park and Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This park is a must-see. Yes part of the beach is rocky but this is normal for Key West. The water is crystal clear. Clean bathrooms. Gorgeous trees and breathtaking views. I didn't eat, but the menu is quite extensive for a beach shack refreshment stand. Pretty patio area for eating.
Picnic tables and grills. Lots of shade.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunshineStateFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing