We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want a beach in Key West this is your best option.”

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.69*
and up
Key West Sunset Champagne Cruise
Ranked #13 of 167 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Forres Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If you want a beach in Key West this is your best option.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beaches are hard to come by in Key West,this is as good as it gets. Costs seven dollars to get in and then you can hire sunbeds and umbrellas at ten dollars each. Nice sand but lots of broken coral,shoes are a must for walking on the beach and for swimming. Good beach cafe with nice food,also toilets and showers available.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveltimes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,358
    1,603
    595
    122
    38
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brevard NC
Level Contributor
260 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very Nice Beach - Great Sunset”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We drove to the state park to see the sunset. Magnificant! Lots of sail boats on the horizon made it unique. Wish we had come out earlier as we didn't have time to visit the fort. Beach looked like a great spot for families with children. Picnic area. Park personnel were very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST BEACH”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

wear beach shoes as it is very rough coral, great snorkeling, can BB-Q there too. just a great place to spend the afternoon. Clean bathrooms and changing rooms, stand to rent beach items and place to get lunch

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank onlypalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth a few Hours”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stopped by the state park on our way out of Key West, as we only spent a day in in the area. Had we had more time and done more research, we would have planned another day and spent more time here.

The beach is full of coral and is difficult to walk on - flip flops are a must. Many young sunbathers were laying on towels, my back could not take the coral. There were loungers for rent. The view is beautiful, and would have been a great place to lay out for an afternoon in the sun.

The fort was interesting and worthy of a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 59sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Bicycled to the park”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Enjoyed seeing this historic site. Would have been better understood with more informational signage.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing