We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the park entrance...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #16 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the park entrance...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The fort itself was pretty cool but to me the best part of the park was the beach area. We arrived early & claimed a picnic table, partially shaded, along a nice trail. The water was nice & warm. Some snorkelers along the man made breaker rocks but mostly just people enjoying the white sandy beach & the warm water. Concession stand near by is convenient but really overpriced. Bring your own picnic & drinks & save a ton!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NWGAL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,985
    1,409
    520
    112
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We biked here from Bahama street. It costs $2.50 to get in and there was a place to lock up our bikes and a snack bar with lots of snacks to choose from. $6.50 cheese quesadillas. They sell beer, but you can't take that onto the beach, just on the deck there. We put our towels down, swam in the ocean and had a nice day.
TIP - I have sissy feet and so does my husband, I really wish I would have listened to others who mentioned water shoes. Next time for sure!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We enjoyed touring the fort though it was an extremely hot day so we didn't stay as long as we would have liked. The beach is one of the nicest in Key West and there are lots of bike paths. There is a nice little concession stand as well as several picnic areas for those who wish to spend the day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank christyml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A pretty place, definitely need water shoes,(rocky), quite a bit of sea weed-- I think it was from previous storms-- the sand and Sun still nice area still FUN!!!

Helpful?
Thank Pololady1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We love to tour old forts across the country. This would be a pass for history buffs. Check out Ft. Pulaski in SC instead. During our visit they were setting up for a Halloween display of sorts. Creating a "fun or horror house".

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeggySueToYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing