We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.69*
and up
Key West Sunset Champagne Cruise
Ranked #13 of 167 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This beach lifts the spirits. The view is incredible. The concession stand is much better than in years past. The bathrooms are clean. My only wish is that they stayed open another half hour. You cannot enjoy the sunset here, they come around on a golf cart and kick you out.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank realdeal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,358
    1,603
    595
    122
    38
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

While this is not much of a beach, the views are breathtaking. No, it's not a sandy beach like South Beach in Miami, but it's the Keys. There are more rocks/pebbles floating in the waves, but at least there was not as much seaweed. Also noticed no portugese man-of-war like we've experienced in Miami.

VERY laid back and family oriented. Since it is a State Park, there's no obscene sunbathers to worry about your children seeing.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GFamilyMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BreathTaking Beach!”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

It's the nicest beach on Key West!!!

The Fort itself is a trip! Construction began on the Fort in 1845, when Florida became a state. It was named for President Zachary Taylor who died in 1850. Construction continued through the 1850s, but was slowed by yellow fever, hurricanes and the slow delivery of men and materials (Key West was pretty remote in those days).

It's a wonderful tour, particularly in the dark and damp brick-lined gun sites. Spooky, really. And you can imaging the ghosts who still live there.

Outside the fort is a wonderful broad beach facing the Atlantic Ocean. Soft sand, plenty of parking, showers and a delightful concession stand.

No crowds! No teenagers! No music! No dogs! Just lots of space and clear, beautiful blue water. Great for swimming and snorkeling.

A channel along the west side (across the jetty) is reserved for fishing. I enjoyed watching sailboats, pelicans and even a crab on the coral. One of the prettiest beaches I've ever been too...Highly Recommended.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank KisssableKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice beach but not typical for FL”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Being from a FL beach city, we knew we would not encounter the sandy white beaches we are used to but were ready for a new experience. This is a beautiful beach and quite good for families as there is plenty of shade to escape to. The sand is actually white - but very rocky. My teens could handle it but I couldn't - definitely bring flip flops or water shoes if you don't have tough feet! The water was beautiful! There were lots of people there but it was not uncomfortably crowded. Great place for a picnic, too. Liked it better than Higgs or Smathers beaches. If you want a white sandy beach, go anywhere else in FL but I recommend Englewood, Siesta Key, Cape San Blas (in the Panhandle), or Anastasia Island (near St Augustine). With so much else to enjoy in the Keys, the beach was the least of my concerns this trip but this was lovely!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Jorjetr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Beach in Key West”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We went on Monday April 24th; drive there! do not walk, as it would be a very far walk. Entrance fee was $7 for 2 people in a vehicle, but parking was ample and no additional parking fee was required. Re-entry was allowed so we went out for lunch and returned. The beach was great! Secluded, less crowded than Smather's with food bar and rental hut on site. Did not try either as prices are ridiculous and food on the island are so much better (try Mo's on White St.). Water was slightly chilled, but clear and very refreshing. Rocks were definatley a problem, depending on where on the beach you situate yourself it could be awful or tolerable. Overall, the best beach in Key West. Had lots of fun and will be returning soon.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank stephie3988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing