We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot visit Key West without watching the sunset from Mallory Square.”
Review of Mallory Square

Mallory Square
Ranked #3 of 130 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Mallory Square where the fun starts and the sun sets. Everything Key West is famous for comes together in this one special place set on historic waterfront. Mallory Square is home to shops, restaurants, and many of the islands most popular attractions. Come for the day and stay into the night. There's always something happening in Mallory Square.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The view of the sunset is beautiful, a scene punctuated by the silhouettes of sailing ships and other various watercraft that crowd the harbor at that time of day, Just stroll to the North end of Duval street and it's a short walk to Mallory Square where you will be met with a dozen or more street performers, vendors of various types of crafts and a crowd of revelers waiting for that instant when the sun dips into the horizon and the sky takes on a wondrous glow of reds and golds. While you wait, you can have a mojito or daiquiri at El Meson de Pepe while listening (and dancing if you will) to some cool salsa beats. If you make reservations, you can take the complimentary ferry across to Latitudes restaurant in Sunset Island for a great dinner or lunch. For the fans of live theater, check out the schedule at the Waterfront Playhouse, just outside Mallory Square - they bring some great acts there.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"street performers"
in 2,175 reviews
"sunset celebration"
in 609 reviews
"watch the sunset"
in 850 reviews
"cat man"
in 302 reviews
"food vendors"
in 148 reviews
"beautiful sunset"
in 557 reviews
"every night"
in 361 reviews
"sun sets"
in 183 reviews
"local artists"
in 142 reviews
"people watching"
in 383 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 253 reviews
"visit key west"
in 121 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 117 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 144 reviews
"entertainers"
in 669 reviews
"jugglers"
in 474 reviews
"juggling"
in 180 reviews
Filter

90 - 94 of 12,850 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I heard that if you ever get the chance to go to Key West, you must go to Mallory Square and watch the sunset. I will say that the sunset was beautiful and I enjoyed it and am very happy that I did it. However....the "entertainment" was not something I would go back for. Just not for me. There were some great vendors there and I even bought a couple things, but "been there, done that".

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food great entertainment sunset is the best thing to ever I go every time I'm here highly recommend

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Venture29976050992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've visited Key West for almost all of 32 years and have always enjoyed Mallory Square sunsets along with street performers like The Cat Man and Will, The Tightrope Walker. This year was a grand disappointment. The street performers were relocated all over the pier with virtually none of them by the water. Throw in the fact that a hugh cruise ship blocked most of the view and you'll understand my position. Years ago, the cruise ships were required to leave the dock during the sunset festivities but once again, the Key West political system goes after the money without thought as to tradition. I believe Mallory Square will be a non-existent sundown spot in a few short years. There are many other places to watch sundown. I especially feel bad for the street ;performers who will ultimately lose needed income. Shame on the Key West local government. Try a sunset sail instead. Absolutely beautiful.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Daydream6584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the must sees in Key West. There are a lot of destinations nearby like Duval St. Would recommend walking around from here. During the day it is very quiet. Nice to stroll around and look at the views of the ocean. Cruise ships dock here so when one is docked it is very busy. There are a lot of souvenir shops in this area as well. The key west aquarium is located here as well as well as other paying attractions. This is really the place to be. There are some nice restaurants to sit and relax and take in the atmosphere. On evenings it gets very busy as everyone is wanting to see the sunset from here. Would recommend as a must see when in Key West.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ChristianaR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallory Square also viewed

 

Been to Mallory Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing