We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed trip - the natural Florida”

Blue Planet Kayak Eco-Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Planet Kayak invites you to escape to the seclusion of our tropical “backcountry” locales -- only accessible by kayak. More than a kayaking trip; we offer an Eco-Tour Experience! Glide across warm, crystal clear water only inches deep to the shelter of mysterious mangrove islands. Our guides are happy to explain this ecosystem's uniqueness in plants, marine life, birds and natural history.Let us catch marine animals only an expert could find for you to handle and photograph. Learn about egrets, herons and other birds roosting only feet away or prying the flats for food. Geared for any level of paddler, you won’t have to go far to see the hidden beauty that so many have called serene, enchanting, romantic and captivating. We take a maximum of 10 people per guide for a personal experience.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not to be missed trip - the natural Florida”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We really recommend this adventure trip to anyone who wants to see the natural side of Florida by kayak. We are experienced kayakers but were out with inexperienced paddlers and think we all felt comfortable with the short amount of paddling involved in this three hour tour. With lots to see both under and above the water. Our guide, Patrick, was amazingly knowledgeable about this trip and really put in the effort to make sure we got to see everything. Having spent some time in the muck of the grass flats of the keys, we really commend him for his jumps into the water to retrieve a variety of underwater creatures for us to see up close before they were gently returned to their habitat. The pick-up drop-off service was also appreciated as well at the bottled water.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Janice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    51
    16
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Tour!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This was my first time kayaking and only the second time my husband had ever tried it. We had a great time. Our guide was very fun and knowledgable. Our tour was only us and one other couple plus guide. We had a wonderful time and never felt rushed. We seen a variety of things.Our guide would jump out and pull things out of the water to make them more visible. A really fun time. Would do again definitely.

Another plus, they offer to pick you up!

Helpful?
Thank Newluwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome sunset kayak tour!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The sunset kayak tour was amazing. The trip to the different mangrove islands was easy and the views were great. We started out around a mangrove island that had a ton of pelicans, cormorants and egrets all hanging out getting ready for bed time! We were then treated to a beautiful sunset before continuing on to the next island. We weaved through the mangroves and saw a sea urchin, crabs in the branches, sea hares and an octopus. Leaving the mangrove we put our headlights on and got to watch all kinds of little silver fish jump all over the place! The best part was turning those lights off later and disturbing the water with our paddles to see all these little worms light up! They were like pixie dust glowing all over the place! At the end of the tour we hung around in the shallow water right by the dock in hopes of seeing a few things. Well, we did! Two octopi and a 2 foot (ok, ok 6 inch) needle gar that jumped into me and then into the boat. I screamed like a girl and made sure that me and my husband were soaked! The guide was not happy but I made the other couple that was with us laugh! And I was able to catch it and throw it back! The tour was great and I'd love to do it again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank smartang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, educational sunset kayak tour”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The bottom line is, we would do this excursion again and take family and friends. There were 12 in our tour group as well as our great guide, Sarah. My husband and I had signed up after discussing options with Kathy at The Hip Tourist on Simonton in Key West. After a slightly strenuous paddle out to Bird Island, the tour unfolded as the sun set beautifully. All the equipment, including the kayak, paddle, life preserver, and headlamps were provided and functioned well. The kayaks are well made and track well...no cheapos, these! Sarah explained the wild life, guided us through tunnels in the mangrove, and showed off the bioluminescent organisms. Be ready to work, but it is a marvelous experience. So far away from the loud fun on Duvall, you will be transported back to the wonderful beginnings of the culture in the region. Don't miss it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Most awesome kayaking tour we've done!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We did the night time kayak and it was amazing! Surprisingly we were the only ones signed up so we were grateful they still decided to run it and then of course we had our own personal tour! Sarah was our guide and she was great! She was very knowledge and very friendly. We saw a queen conch, lots of birds, sea cucumber, jelly fish, horseshoe crab, jumping fish (I don't remember the name), shrimp (at least their eyes!), little glow worms, bioluminescent dinoflagellates, and the icing on the cake...an octopus! We highly recommend this tour and company!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joopy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePlanetKayak, Public Relations Manager at Blue Planet Kayak Eco-Tours, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and for the great photos! We are glad you enjoyed your "private" night tour. Come back and see us again and try the Boca Chica daytime tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Planet Kayak Eco-Tours also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Planet Kayak Eco-Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing