We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel but watch out for extra Taxes and hidden Resort fee costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel but watch out for extra Taxes and hidden Resort fee costs”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Overall the resort and rooms were nice and comfortable however, we felt it was not good value for money once the following daily taxes were added:
Sales Tax: $20.18
TDC Tax: $13.45
Resort Fee: $24.00

A few other points to mention:
There was a distinct lack of chairs. We spent 3 nights in a cottage, we were 6 people in total and there was only 1 sun lounger an 1 umbrella for the 6 of us. We spent the last night in a standard room,(as there was only two of us) and there were no seats at all on the terrace.
The hotel is not very close to the old town.
The internet in the rooms is very slow and would disconnect every 15 or so and therefore required re connecting and the acceptance of the terms and conditions on every occasion (very frustrating).
We found one receptionist (Elena) cold, rude, curt, and unfriendly, the other receptionists were helpful and very friendly. We were disappointed with the bedroom furniture, the drawers appeared broken every time they were opened in both rooms.

The housekeeping banged on the door at 10.00 in the morning trying to get us out of the room even though checkout was at 11.00. We heard them move on to hassle the next room. I complained to reception about this (Elena) and just got a shrug not even an apology. Bear in mind when booking that check in is at 16.00 and check out at 10.00, and the rooms did not appear to be ready any earlier than 16.00.

So overall, although this sounds like a negative review the resort and rooms were nice with great views from the top floor of the cottage, but obviously the problems encountered combined with the nightly rate and taxes made it feel like bad value for money

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,578
    1,128
    406
    189
    117
See reviews for
1,450
1,637
80
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,060)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We just returned from a week in Key West & couldn't be happier with our accommodations at Parrot Key. This place is absolutely GORGEOUS. The landscaping/gardens are lush & fragrant. The mineral pools are inviting & relaxing. The rooms (we stayed in a water front cottage) are spacious & comfortable. The staff is friendly & extremely helpful. The location is perfect--it's 10 minutes from the airport & just a 5 minute ride to town! There are plenty of places to grab groceries, etc. within walking distance (Walgreen's next door & a shopping center across the street). We highly recommend staying here & look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Although the room was reserved for 4 people, there were only 2 towels and we had to ask for more. The next day, they took our 4 towels and replaced them with 2 towels...so again, we had to ask for more. Although the beds are very comfortable, they are too high to sit on and there is really only ONE chair in the room. This makes the room very uncomfortable for 4 people. So we went out on the very nice back porch, but there were no chairs out there either. We basically couldn't stay in our room unless we were ready to go to bed!! In addition, we were charged $24/DAY for some sort of "RESORT FEE" (covering internet, pools, parking, fitness center), which was ridiculous because all we did was sleep here. We did not use the pool, the internet, the "fitness center" or anything else. We couldn't even use the parking lot as it was always full and we had to park in the adjacent drug store parking lot. All in all, if it wasn't for the "RESORT FEE", I might recommend this place to others (if they bring lawn chairs). I felt that charging us a $24/day RESORT FEE on checkout, after we had paid $170/night for a room with 2 beds) was a complete ripoff and I would not recommend this place for that reason. (I had no knowledge of this fee until after I had paid online for the room, which I think was VERY deceptive).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda_NewfieldNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This place is terrific. The hotel rooms are owned by individuals and therefore there are some larger, townhome rooms that have 3 br/2 ba. They offer full kitchens and are beautifully decorated. The place is new, clean and outstanding. The staff is good, so is the food and the three pools are private and tastefully done with sculptures around them.

I would highly recommend this hotel for couples looking for a retreat, young families or someone traveling by themselves, like me. You will be impressed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Convexity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Breathtaking scenery, wonderful location and large well appointed rooms. Our family went to Key West to celebrate my Husband's 40th Birthday, and we had a blast.
The rooms all had an island feel to them, the unspoiled views from the balcony were amazing. A wonderful way to wake up every morning.

The only disadvantage is that our trip was too short, we have been trying to plan another trip to Key West and plan to stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knob Noster, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Parrot Key. The accomodations were wonderful, with comfortable rooms, and plenty of space. The furnishings made us feel at home and enabled us to "dine-in" during our weeklong stay. The service was terrific--everyone was friendly and happy to help us with whatever we needed. The pools were enjoyed daily, as well as the gardens surrounding them. We would definitely stay again and recommend Parrot Key as a great getaway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2010

This was my first time going to the Keys without a group. I was on line months before looking for a really good Resort. There were a few that came up, but the detail information on the of the Parrot Key Resort sold me. Being able to see the picture of the diffirent rooms also sold me. I contact the hotel the person on the other end was so helpful with booking, ideas and thing to do. I knew right then, thats where i wanted to stay.

The rooms was super clean and lovely. The decor was awsome! The staff was outstanding!!!

To the Parrot Key Staff Thank You!

Go stay there, you won't regrat it!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsGlamorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
893 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing