We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of space, but old town is a trek.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We made these reservations for new years eve and were delighted by the size of the unit, as well as the balconies and Adirondack chairs. The pelicans actually came close enough I could hear their wings cut through the air! The only real drawback was that the walk to old town was pretty substantial--close to an hour and a half. On the other hand, it is conveniently located next to Walgreens and a number of other businesses. There is a beach area with lounges and cabanas, but mangroves separate the beach from the water.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strombeekasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,495)
There are newer reviews for Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,895 - 3,901 of 4,495 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2010

I have not stayed at the resort, but I just spent 30 minutes on the phone with Amy - the resort's customer service representative - booking a trip for my parents to Parrot Key in 2010. She deserves special mention due to her utmost professionalism, guidance on dates of stay, and activities people of various ages can enjoy when at Parrot Key (and in Key West). I am beyond impressed with how she answered all of my questions and her patience and kindness in doing so. I wish there were more Amy's in today's customer service industry!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AdventureGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

The wife and I spent two nights at this Key West gem thanks to the many positive reviews on this site. We've stayed in Key West many times before at all varous types of hotels, B&Bs etc, but this was stood out.

Pros
The place is immaculate, the grounds are lush and beautifully landscaped and the pool areas (4 in total) were almost sanctuary like - in true key west B&B fashion. We had a three story 2 bedroom townhome, that was spacious and very well appointed - great appliances, 4 flat screens, 3 balconies - I'd say easily big enough to hold a family of 6, or 8 in a pinch. The hotelier's clearly put a lot of thought into the theme - though for some reason we couldn't find a can opener ;-)

Cons:
Though the grounds with their lush landscaping and intricate patheways creates this peaceful sanctuary, they could do a better job securing the property's perimeter. I was surprised that you could literally walk right into this area from the main road without being met by anyone on the hotel staff, or a single security gate.

Also did not have a great experience with the hotel staff at the front desk. Wasn't certain if this was because it was close to Xmas and the primary staff were off, but it did feel like some basic training was lacking. For instance, when we arrived our room wasn't ready so we headed into town and asked to be called when it was. They never called us and offered no apology upon our return.

Lastly, parking was limited and semi-challenging - I'd recommend taking a taxi into town

In closing, for the money, a fantastic place to stay, particularly if you're looking for a quieter type of Key West getaway and their spacious townhome options just can't be beat.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ipodyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

The good: This place is beautiful especially the pool areas. The entire grounds is covered in lush, tropical trees and plants to a point of obscuring the view in some cases. The units are large, clean and very nice. Staff was very friendly. The service was very good--to a point.
The bad: We were initially placed in a unit next to in-house construction. Every morning at 8 AM there was typical construction noise. They said they would address it but after three days of no action we demanded to be moved. The management was very apologetic and accomadating and upgraded us to one of the nicest units. Had we been in this unit to start with I could probably remove my "almost". Also, no matter what anyone tells you on the phone there IS a $24/day "resort" fee on top of the published rate. One more thing. Resort is at least 1.5 miles from Duval St. so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

My wife and I spent 2 days at the end of our honeymoon Nov19-21 (Orlando, Key West, Miami). The service is perfect at check in/out, pool and wherever. We had a great surprise with a room upgrade to 2 bedroom with ocean view, "wonderful". The room was very clean, beautiful and confortble. The location is good, but requires a car to know best places of Key West... or you can rent a bike, very nice! Parrot coul add a hair dryer and a refrigerator to the rooms and a breakfast service woul be appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPAguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Privacy! Beautiful grounds, well cared for, 4 pools, excellent staff. We felt like we were the only people there (had one pool to ourselves all day). Ask for Shelly when you get to the pool bar she'll give you the low-down on all the Key West spots to hit and local dish and dine. Now, we had a car, so it was a quick drive to Duval street and old town. If you don't... no worries, rent bikes- everybody does or taxi it. It's worth it! Priviate paradise. Picture perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerwindChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

A much overdue review...but this place was amazing! We had a 3 bedroom/3 story townhome for my siblings and our spouses. We were so thrilled to see how nice, fun, colorful, beachy and just really how beautiful the resort was. Of course downtown Key West wasn't within walking distance but a quick cab ride and we were there! Nothing but good things at Parrot Key. We fixed breakfast and dinner in the completely furnished kitchen, very convenient! And even jumped in the heated pool in the middle of January! The grounds were so pretty and views from the balcony were wonderful. Highly recommend this place, especially to large groups and families. Can't wait to get back there!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cozumel-Girl-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,350 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $167 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing