We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel [not a resort]”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Despite the heavy construction and chaos outside its walls, Parrot Key was a lovely little oasis of tranquility. We stayed in the three story two bedroom/ two bath villas with an "ocean view" [more on the quotations around that in a minute] First the good:

The Good:
- Very clean
- Well maintained property.
- Friendly front desk staff
- comfortable beds

The Not So Good:

- DO NOT PAY EXTRA for the ocean view. We paid extra for a glimpse of the inlet from the back deck.

- Be prepared to experience a nice hotel, NOT a nice resort. I'm not sure what we paid the extra resort fee for and for that feel a bit ripped off. I've gone to a bunch of resorts and have happily paid resort fees but this just hotel doesn't fit the description. There's no spa. No nice restaurant on the premises. The tiki bar was going through reservations and was closed. Sure the pools [all outdoor] are nice but they have no attendant or even a place to get beach towels [you have to head over to the front desk for that], and parking in a Walgreens every day doesn't add to the resort feel either. I saw people on this site complaining about the resort fee and didn't understand, after all, resorts have resort fees, no? After having visited this place, I get it. It's not a resort. It's just a nice expensive hotel that you will be required to pay additional extra resort taxes on.

<<Special note ***If traveling with kids** >> Be careful. We had what we thought would be a two story villa, but it was actually three levels, with a flight of stairs to reach the front door, and then a tall set of stairs to reach the main level, and then more stairs to reach the secondary bedrooms. Considering we had very young children this was tough. Unlike most resorts/hotels that provide complimentary crib or pack-n-play they do not offer it and said they might get it for us but would have to charge us for it. Not very kid-friendly.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank curiousvillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,974 - 1,980 of 4,504 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

A great place for families who are not into the bar scene but want to enjoy water sports renting a scooter and shopping around town and taking in The Hemingway house or the Butterfly conservatory.Really well kept and the staff are professional and friendly.A home away from home.
This can also work for couples who are looking for a get away.NICE PLACE we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Get the" B "side of a room if you are a family with a need for an extra room .The "A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent resort ! Will deffinately stay here again while in the keys. Close to Mallory square and all the activities in key west. If you want to be close to all the excitement this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a tranquil place just a short cab ride from down town Key West. The grounds are like an oasis kept pristine even though it is in a busy commercial area. The units encircle four separate
pools that are heavily landscaped to keep them relatively private but accessible from each other.
The second floor unit was really large with a living room with a tv refrigerator etc. This is the second time we were there and we will be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knuckleboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

TV did not work in 2 or the 3 rooms that our party rented. Told pool, cafe and bar close at 10 pm. Went there at 7:50pm told they were closing cafe and bar at 8 pm and would not be able to be served. Shower had no water pressure and the toilet paper at the airport was better quality. The next morning we were told twice that the cafe was closed for renovations. When we asked to speak to a manager we were told he would call us, we checked out and 20 minutes later the front desk person called us back and said he made a mistake the cafe was open! By this time we had left the area. Have been calling since 8:30 am yesterday and have still not received a call back from the manager. Just now for the first time I got a voice mail but it is for the hotel not the manager. All this after spending approximately $411.00 per room on 3 rooms! Over $1200.00 for one of the worst experiences I have ever had at a hotel. Wanted to give the resort a chance to make this right but since no one will return our calls I decided to put this up in hopes of saving other people from this type of rip off Sincerely, Terri Engel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I chose the Parrot Key Resort to stay while visiting Key West for our 25th wedding anniversary and we loved the accomodations. I am very particular about the cleaniliness of the places we stay but this place was absolutely spotless. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone! It is large complex but the way the units are surrounded by beautiful landscaping you feel secluded. I am looking forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGAT1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Parrot key was an awesome experience. It was my first time in key west, part of time for fantasy fest part time to enjoy the real key west. I loved the location...a mile to the circus! Easily accessible by bike or scooter. The hotel was clean, the grounds we clean and neat. The parking was a challenge if you have a car, but there is no need. The staff was awesome and friendly at all times. They have 4 pools which is great. Love Rutanya! Hello to everybody!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.2 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,827 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,418 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $220 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing