We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Affordable, clean and beautiful scenery. Friendly staff. Would definitely visit again! Staff was great too! Loved our room it faced the Gulf of Mexico. Was able to see the majestic sunset. Relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mj840099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,119 - 2,125 of 4,504 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

After much research we chose Parrot Key for our multi-generation family trip. I was aware that the resort was not beachfront, so it was not an issue. The multiple pools were beautiful and never crowded. I would add another star if the resort had shuttle service to downtown. Returning to the resort from downtown our first evening was a nightmare due to the closure of N. Roosevelt Blvd in one direction. Be sure to get detour directions as the GPS was no help. My service rating is based on the fact that after three phone calls about an article of clothing left behind, we never heard back from management or housekeeping. That ended our beautiful trip on kind of a sour note!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gram33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is nothing short of just fabulous! It is just beautiful and what I liked most is it had more of a tropical Old Key West feel to it. We did not want to stay in a 'chain' hotel. Our rooms were just AMAZING-we were speechless when we walked in! My husband and daughter commented we could live here! It is kept up and maintained so well and is like new. The pools are so elegant! LOVED the poolside café! The property is indeed just like a resort! 'Jacinta' was so helpful and gave us so many choices of things to do and places to go (Roof Top Restaurant). I almost cried! We loved the location as it was so close to down Key West without being in the middle of the 'tourist' sections. We did not want to leave!

This was a last minute trip to Key West and our first vacation in about 6 or 7 years and also celebrating our daughters college graduation and anniversary. We actually drove from Memphis so that we could spend some time in the Everglades. We also took a last minute trip to the Dry Tortugas and it was just fantastic!

I did call Parrot Key directly and had better service in booking our reservations vs. using an online hotel booking website. Priscilla (?) was so helpful on the phone!

Thank you all at Parrot Key so very much for the attention and special surprise that we received! It meant so much to our family and it was so appreciated!

Room Tip: I actually called Parrot Key directly and felt I had better help in booking a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I go to Keywest a coupe of times a year and have done so for years. This is the 1st negative review we have done on any hotel. The Parrot key was a disappointment in a lot of ways. We are giving an honest review so we will list pros and cons to be fair.
Cons:
1)Bad location, to far from Duval, more in the residential area of KW, didn't feel like a vacation area. Dead smack in the middle of construction central no easy way in or out.
Balconies are on top of one another so if you sit outside and your neighbor comes out you can reach over and touch them, NO PRIVACY!!! Resort not romantic at all!! Nothing to do after dark, pools are closed at dusk, so you either stay out on Duvall or return and watch t.v.
2)Not enough parking..they have approx 150 units but only approx 70 parking spots, so you have to park in Walgreens lot and walk over to your room. Yet they allow people who have a car in a spot already to bring motorcycles, trailers, sea doos and mopeds which take up 10 more of the limited spots. Basically some rooms have 3 spots and your walking from walgreens in bad weather or late at night.
3) NO BEACH FRONT! Idc what they say the beach front is minimal and you have to walk all the way around the building to access it. Then the chairs are right in front of the 1st floor units so basically it is the very small beach front for the 1st floor units. You will not touch sand if you are on a 2nd floor!! There is no where to swim in the ocean at all... period and when you walk on the "beach" you feel like your imposing on the first floor guests "area".
4) Staff rarely visible unless its a maid or pool maintenance and they are not friendly. We walked by 20 maids/pool maintenance people while we were there and when we spoke to them they either ignored us or didn't understand us. Most of the time they would not even look at you or acknowledge you.
5) Front office did not handle any issues we had. We called upon arrival with some issues (which were minor, but none the less) and at no point did they apologize or handle the issues, we were blown off.
6)Evidently this is a non smoking hotel inside or out?? I can accommodate that if required but they only allotted smokers 2 small smoking areas at each corner of the parking lot! You were standing on the street and those were only two areas, none by the swimming pools or other end of the hotel. Here's a thought for management...instead of treating smokers like criminals, why not put in a decent smoking area in a corner of the "beach" area with a couple chairs and an umbrella, put one closer to the pools as well. its ridiculous that you make people walk to the opposite side of the resort and stand on a street corner! There were a lot of unhappy bill paying, resort filling people(smokers) standing out there .
6)Alcohol- they also do not allow you to bring your own alcohol to the pool can, plastic or otherwise, you have to buy it from their bar, which firstly is expensive, secondly is the on other side of the resort. Not practical. And the refrigerator in the room is so small it wont hold a gallon of water so don't plan on using it for much. Last but not least we had to have our key re-keyed like 5 times, because it was too close to our cell phones or other credit cards!?! No matter how far I put it from my cell if it was within 5 feet of it the key didn't work. No one told us this until we got locked out, the night guard was very nice!! He did a good job, but the office closes in the early evening so if you need something??? who knows??
And there are more things but these are the biggest offenders and will result is us never returning there.
Pros
1) Nice room, clean, nice colors, a lot of stairs though to get to your room.
2) Nice view of the "beach" more like bay but nice.
3) hotel, room were clean and maintained.
5} pools were very nice, small but thats ok because there was four of them and you could find one that didn't have a lot of people at any time. water was clean and good temperature.

As you can see the cons way over shadow the pros. Nice resort if you don't drink smoke or want to do anything after dusk. We are mid aged, we are not kids trying to party hard but when we cant relax on our vacation and enjoy a drink or cigarette by the pool, beach or balcony, then something is wrong. We are not hard to please, over the years we have stayed at several places in KW and have enjoyed them alI and have made some friends there. For the last 3 years we have rented the a condo but this year we were unable to as it was already rented that is the only reason we stayed at the Parrot Key, next year we will wait until that condo is available or stay at one of the hotels we know are tried and true, such as the Southern Most on the Beach, or The Reach.

Room Tip: Be sure to get ocean front or they will stick you in the canal, ocean front is more like a bay but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Parrot Key for 3 nights late July. Great hotel/resort. Not beachfront, but fabulous view of the bay from our ground floor unit. Upper units would have a better view. This hotel would be great for a group travelling together - everyone could have their own rooms yet there are plenty of gathering spots for the group - sandy area bayside, each of the pools, bar area. We got both drinks and 2 breakfasts at the bar - nice! They have discounts available through Sunsports (?) for snorkeling and cruises. We booked the sunset snorkel trip - it was fun but the snorkeling was disappointing - not too many fish at all; maybe the rough waters kept them away. There's a shuttle to Smathers Beach, although we drove over there. Free lounge chairs on the beach - a nice touch. This hotel is definitely off the beaten path - too far to Duval street to bike or walk. You have to drive or ride a scooter. But it's a nice, quiet change of pace away from it all. All in all a great place to stay - Recommend!

Room Tip: Upper floors will have the best view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacabuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This resort does not have a beach. It has an area of sand enclosed by a picket fence, overlooking the water. The closest you will get to the ocean is by walking out on a small dock located on what I was disappointed to discover was more like a large sand box with deck chairs. The location was terrible. There are all kinds of construction going on and it is not $35.00 round trip cab ride. The staff was friendly & helpful. It is clean and pleasant. But I rated it only a poor for kids activities because though I was not traveling with children, I did see disappointed families come to the "beach" with beach towels in tow

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a bit more privacy and are away from the strong chlorine smells of the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZaraBinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was amazing. The rooms were amazing and the staff was beyond amazing. I loved the artwork set up around the hotel pools and personally loved how they have the pools separated and enclosed by lovely trees and bushes. I would definitely stay here again in the future. On the other hand the cafe they have is awful, When I say awful I mean really really ridiculously bad. The drinks are completely overpriced for the poor quality and the food....oh man, what a joke. I could not even force down the food as I was starving it was so bad. I do not mind paying the extra money for resort food if it is worth it and i can actually swallow. BUT I advice people to stay here and when they want breakfast go across the street to Goldmans bagel shop. Great food and cheap prices, If you want better drinks and dinner or lunch, across the street as well is TGIfridays, happy hour from 4-10 and great great drinks with amazing service. Other than that, we had an amazing time in this hotel and would def. recommend it to anyone, as long as they are aware of other food and drink options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.2 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
269 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
988 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $220 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing