We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Key West Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Key West Resort”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently rented a two bedroom gulf side unit at Parrot Key Resort. It was well appointed but there are several flights of stairs in a two bedroom unit therefore it would not be advisable for anyone that has a walking handicap. One bedroom is on the second floor and the second bedroom is on the third floor. The second floor bedroom has a balcony that overlooks the gulf. It is not situated on the water but several hundred feet away and has a sandy area between the building and the water. There are many units that do not have a water view but appear to be the same configuration. I did notice several have small elevators that would accommodate wheel chairs etc.Parking is tight if the resort is full. There is a resort fee, which I think is a little excessive with the per night accommodation charge. The street in front of the hotel, Roosevelt Ave, is being repaired and because of that it has been converted into a "one way" street. This means to come back to the hotel you must go over several blocks and circumvent traffic to get back to the resort. The way Key West is laid out makes this rather confusing. The resort personnel are very accommodating from the front desk to the service personnel. There is a Walgreen's drug store across the parking lot which makes purchasing beverages, snacks, drug store items, very convenient. There is also a large shopping center just across the highway with a Post Office, TGIF restaurant, Five Guys Hamburger restaurant and several other stores. There are three pools in the complex, each of which has a nice tropical setting. They are located in the center of the resort, therefore they do not have a Gulf view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,546
    1,112
    397
    188
    114
See reviews for
1,413
1,620
79
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Chose this hotel on recommendation from travel agent. It was very "pretty" but slightly lacking. The rooms were noisy. You could hear what was going on (day and night) in the room next to you. No view whatsoever. If you want ice, better get to it early. If you want a cold drink from your room refrigerator, forget that, but you might have a "cool" drink. Parking your car, don't bother. If you have a car, your best option is to drive into the downtown, park in a lot and pay the 24-hour fee, and you can move your car and park anywhere with the same 24-hour ticket. Much cheaper than taking a taxi. No, I would not stay at this place again. The best I can say about this hotel is the staff is excellent; very nice, very friendly, very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't bring a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuLu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I am a US Army Lieutenant, and will be deploying to Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom in a few short days. Me, my wife, and our sons (12 and 17) decided to visit Parrot Key as our final family vacation prior to my departure after extensive online research. Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed by an awesome front desk staff, and checking in within minutes. Oriana, the receptionist was able to get us into a 2 bedroom suite that was far beyond anything we could have imagined!! The view was unreal to say the least. After settling in, I called back to the front desk to ask about activities, and was given the run down on the island. We decided to visit Ripley's Museum, and have dinner downtown. When we got back to the room, we were able to book 2 jet skis and go on a tour around the entire island. Because we were guests of Parrot Key, we were given a huge saving on our rental. The boys had a blast!!
All in all, I wish to say that Parrot Key gave us the best experience we have ever had in Key West, and we have visited here 3 times in the past. I 100% recommend this resort to anyone looking to visit Key West. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCF_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Everything was perfect from check in to check out! The friendliness of the staff, decor of our room (and the entire hotel grounds/pools), quality of the food and cleanliness of the hotel left nothing to be desired. We will definitely stay again. Oh and don't let the fact that it isn't located closer to Duval Street deter you from staying at Parrot Key Resort. We were glad to return to our own little oasis with 4 pools to choose from and Shelley at the bar after a busy day of shopping and sightseeing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

While we booked the resort knowing that it was far from town, this did remain our only complaint. It is about $15 each way in a taxi, and there really are not many other options (we cycled one day, but this is more expensive).
Our room was incredible! Very comfortable and spacious with an amazing view. The grounds are incredibly well kept. Each pool is tranquil, clean, with many seating options - they never felt crowded!
The rooms provide sufficient appliances for morning and noon time meals. We were able to enjoy our coffee and breakfast on the beautiful ocean view deck.
The food at the Cafe Blue leaves a bit to be desired (and there is not much else in the area; adding to the downside of the location), but the drinks are fabulous! Also, there is no food available on the resort after 5pm.
There is a Sunset Watersports on the grounds - and we had a fabulous time on the jetskis!
I would definitely go back :)

Room Tip: There are canal view, ocean view and garden view. If you are paying for the ocean view, I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The resort was beautiful. The room was very nice just like the picture shows. The only thing that disappointed me was, the deck had so many big plants, that my hubby and I couldn't just sit outside and enjoy the storm,s, or just sit and talk comfortably, it was crowded on our deck.

Room Tip: If more then four people you need a bigger room. Otherwise it was a beautiful resort. Take a map if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place, at first glance, might seem just ok. It is next to Walgreens and there is alot of construction on the main road but, once inside, the outside world melts away. The room we had was like its own little apartment, complete with balcony, living room, bedroom, and bath. It had a microwave and mini fridge. The pool area is very private, 4 separate pools each with its own style and lovely tropical landscaping along with outdoor speakers with relaxing music. There is a sort of beach-like area but it is really more of a bay. The front desk person (Jacinda) was really nice and knowledgeable about area special offers and activities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLWS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing