We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very pretty, wouldn't go back until roads are finished.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very pretty, wouldn't go back until roads are finished.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Loved this place, stayed in a two bedroomed garden apartment. It was very quiet other than one incident with some late night revellers returning about 3 O'clock. The road works are a nuisance, you have to do a circle of the island to get back into the resort. We decided to leave the car and use taxis,$16 each way for 4 adults to get into town. The little kitchen area is OK, some may feel a bit pit off by having no sink, but the cleaning staff daily replenish your cutlery and plastic plates, and coffee cups. One thing I really miss, is not having a safe. Why no safe? had to carry passports around with me, and cash and all credit cards, just a little safe would be great. Difference between the sand fronted and garden apartments - nothing really, a little bit quieter the ones looking over the sand and water, but this is an expensive holiday/resort, unless you are loaded opt for the garden apartment.

Room Tip: All are nice, but on a budget, choose a garden apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,406
    1,003
    357
    171
    95
See reviews for
1,290
1,495
75
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Parrot Key. The rooms are comfortable and roomy. The furniture is colorful and has a beachy feel. There are four pools which gives a peaceful pool experience. Breakfast is served by one of the pools and is simple, but good. Parrot Key is removed from the hustle and bustle of Duvall Street which we liked for our family vacation. It was nice to enjoy the restaurants, shopping, and Sunset Celebration and then go back to our peaceful hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Key West.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveler123452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are return visitors to Parrot Key Resort. It is outside the hustle and bustle of Old Town Key West, and is its own secluded enclave near the edge of New Town. The grounds are lush and well tended, the pools are sparkling and inviting, and the bar and limited service restaurant are friendly and efficient. We and our traveling family members were in a two-bedroom suite which was comfortable and well-furnished. Staff was friendly and there if we needed them, which wasn't often. There are many different options for vacation housing in Key West, from large resort hotels to bed and breakfasts. Parrot Key Resort is more along the lines of a boutique. It is reasonably proximate to all that Key West offers, but provides a relaxing away-from-it-all ambience for the days you'd like to spend in quiet enjoyment around the pool or on the balcony. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMSlaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The check-in process was horrible, but I think this was due to the person who checked us in. She was unresponsive to us for several minutes and then CHIDED us for not telling her we were there. Another woman was helping a different couple and the 'chider' was wandering behind the counter and did not have a badge or any means of identification. How were we to know she was ready and able to check us in?

She could not find our reservation. She was slouching on the counter and hunt/pecking her way through the computer to find our reservation. Her attitude, questions, and tone of voice prompted my travel partner to comment to her that we were not stupid, did indeed have a reservation and, in fact, had already paid for a good portion of it months earlier. Once she did find it she indicated I had a one bedroom unit, when in fact I clearly had reserved a two-bed unit. Again, the attitude from her was that I was wrong. ugh

The second receptionist was now done with her other customers but did nothing to assist our receptionist. I produced the reservation document and she was able to find the reservation. She then discarded my document and was SHOCKED that I wanted it back. I have checked into many, many hotels and have never felt so humiliated about showing up where I was supposted to show up.

Now we have the keys and get to the room. Unload the car trunkful of stuff into the downstairs lobby. None of the four keys work in the door to the unit. My friend took off for the lobby to rectify. He asked for a manager and was told there were none on property. Strange, no?, for a complex of this size?

Friend returns with a manager who also cannot open the door. A maintenance man appears and he cannot open the door. I request a new unit b/c I am not comfortable with this at all.

At this point, it's just laughable. Honestly, I am not complaining about the door b/c these things happen (and they worked VERY QUICKLY to resolve it), but piled on top of the receptionist......

A bellman comes and loads all our stuff on a cart and we are moved to a new unit. A wonderful unit. An interior end unit. With loads of windows and light.

After this, all is well. The pools are all different temps and so secluded and isolated from each other that you feel like a pool could be yours alone. The paths, beach, plantings, sculptures are wonderful.

The unit was large and comfortable and had everything we could have wanted. Thoughtful attention to colors, decor, cleaning. Except for maybe a tiny sink in the "kitchen area" but that was not a deal breaker.

The manager who assisted us, as well as a manager of the reception area (we were very clear about the problem with the receptionist), both came to our unit (separately) to make sure everything was okay, which we appreciated.

Truly, without that check-in experience, my review would have been one word "fantastic".

Room Tip: ask for a unit that doesn't front parking lot and Walgreens, or an end unit that has lots of win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel in general is OK. It has better prices than most other hotels in town.
Rooms are simple, but nice.
It is a long walk into town - so you may consider to take a taxi.
Negative is tjat there are no safe deposit boxes in the room! Only available on front desk.
Breakfast and lunch can be taken in the pool garden. The pool garden is very nice. The food and coffee are not nice at all!
Coffee is like dark water and meals are cooked without any spices...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Parrot Key is great romantic get away. 4 pools surrounded by lush greenery made each a secluded spot. Relaxation is the outcome. Hotel and unit were well maintained. Staff were friendly, showed pride in their work and were glad to help with directions / locations of attractions. Scooter and bicycle rental (not included in hotel charge) are on site. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples looking for time together and creating memories.

Photo taken at Parrot Key (think coconut trees gently swaying in the breeze with loungers, crystal clear pool and tropical foliage in the shot) is one of our screen savers. ...Ok, you get the picture. You want to be there.

My only request: Don't spoil the place or tell too many people about Parrot Key. After all it's "our place."

-Penelope and Gustav

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked a 3 night stay in February. I read all the reviews prior to the booking and found most to very positive. After a long ride we were tired and hungry. We decided to grab a bite at the pool side bar/cafe area. The food was terrible. The dip we started out with was something you would buy in the frozen food section of the grocery store and the rest of meal was nothing great, as well as very expensive. Putting that aside we checked into our room. It was very bright with great colors and lots of space with a nice bath. At night we always leave the bath light on with the door almost closed. That morning my husband went to get coffee at the cafe. As I was brushing my teeth in the bathroom I noticed two long brown string like antenas from behind the wall picture. I knew immediately it was a LARGE COACHROACH!! If we didn't leave the light on it probably would of came into the bed area during the night. GROSS!! To make a long story short we checked out right away. I was lucky enough to find an awesome hotel in town. So awesome we are returning in a few weeks for another visit. Funny thing is, that night I was looking at reviews of the hotel again and quite a few people mentioned seeing coachroaches in their rooms as well. I should of known that was a sign.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing