We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more for the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expected more for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a waterfront suite, 2nd floor, no help with bags, parking minimal(overflow parking is at Walgreens next door - Really what is that about) and cafe with limited menu.

Now the good stuff, 2 balconies quiet location, yes the view from one balconies had palm trees between us and the water but sunset was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room to avoid lugging bags updtairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandma73034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,519
    1,087
    385
    184
    110
See reviews for
1,379
1,593
78
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Sterile, no parking, had to park at the store next door, no beach just sand hauled in at the back of the property, balconies side by side and no views. Definitely not worth the money and would ot stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms face an inner courtyard with either a view of the store next door or your neighbors bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at parrot bay for 3 days and it was an excellent trip. The grounds were beautiful as was the room. We had a 3 bedroom waterfront suite that exceeded our expectations. We actually had a corner room so both of our balconies were waterfront. The suite was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. There was a small mini bar set up with drink and wine glasses. We will definitely stay here again! We Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sararose5473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived Tues 2/12 for three nights in a king suite at over $400 per night, the room was ok but the view was blocked by the tall palm trees. They gave us two bath towels and we had to ask for more. Rooms are cleaned once every four days during your stay no help with baggage and the suites are on the second floor. For the price $1500 for three nights could have been better. Parking is another problem they warn you that there's a good chance if your out late (after 8pm) you may have to park next door in the Walgreens lot.....really! We won't stay there the next time it overall was just OK.

Room Tip: If your going to be going to Duval street stay there much better than driving or taking a cab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We flew in late from Chicago to Fort Lauderdale and decided to not waste any time/money by getting a cheap motel so we drove the 4-hrs straight and got there about 5am... suffice to say, we were a little tired and after seeing the sunrise and grabbing some early breakfast, we thought we'd try to see if we could hang out early at the hotel.

To our delight, they let us check-in early (I think it was 11am, after we got our marriage license at Key West courthouse)!!! They got us a great room (we had a king suite reserved) and since we were there to get married, they offered us a complimentary drink at the bar. Everyone there was so nice, especially O (I so wish I had gotten her full name!) We even had our camping gear (yes, see my review of Dry Tortugas) shipped via FedEx to their hotel and they accepted and kept it safe for us until we got it to our room.

The suite was perfect. It starts on a 2nd floor and comes with an additional room and bathroom on the 3rd floor, which worked out perfectly as we got dressed and ready for our wedding. They also have not one, two, or three, but FOUR salt-water pools, and the main pool has the bar. The bar always had cold water dispenser filled with ice so we can grab a small cup as needed - what more could you ask for when it's 86, sunny, laying by the pool in February?

This resort was spectacular and well worth the money. They deserve great reviews as the room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Price is good for all that you get; yes, it is not in heart of downtown Key West, but that is what makes it quiet and relaxing...

I must admit, it was a little hard to find parking when we came back late at night but they have an overflow lot adjacent to the resort and didn't hinder us from wanting to stay there for much longer than the 2-nights we had reserved - THANK YOU to everyone at Parrot Key for making our wedding stay so comfortable and relaxing! We are already looking forward to returning and staying at the resort for our future anniversary trips =)

Room Tip: Book a King Suite, it's worth the price and get the Ocean view, there is a sand/beach area to la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fntrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

At 4:30 in the afternoon, room not made up. Major attitude by front desk telling me not to be upset after asking at 2:45 for room to be cleaned. "We do clean also fro 2:00 to 5:00." "You talk to me right". So much for service. You'd do better anywhere else.

Couldn't take a nap or get ready for dinner till they felt like it. At over $300 a night, think attitude from front desk is wrong. I asked for a manager and did not get one.

They will never see us again. If you come here, expect the same.

While they show sand, it's instead of grass. There is NO water access.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hisods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vars, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

As we entered our room, I always check the washroom prior to unpacking. What I found was unsettling and totally nauseating; under the seat cover was the seat smeared with faeces and the bowl full of it. Needless to say, I told my wife not to unpack. The resort manager offered us an upgrade (same room however with a better view) which we accepted. On the second day, after spending the full day exploring Key West, we retrieved to our room only to find the front door held wide-open by the fire extinguisher. Again the manager could only offer their regrets and apologies as nothing was taken from the room. I asked and expected retribution by discounting the cost of our stay however nothing more could be done other than more apologies. Did I mentioned that the guy next door to our room (48A) seemed to be renting long-term was intoxicated and annoying the entire length (4 days) of our stay. Don’t let yourself be lured by the looks, this hotel isn’t worth your money.
This may be a one time BIG BLUNDER however, you'd think they would have made-up for it? Well this is strike 4 and you were out @ 3.

Room Tip: Select another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing