We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A perfect place to relax in Key West, FL.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax in Key West, FL.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort with four heated pools surrounded by lush gardens. However, be warned that this resort is not near or in walking distance of Duval St. It wouldn't be a bad bicycle ride though. We found FREE parking on Truman Ave. by the Catholic church and on Elizabeth St. which is close to the famous Mallory Square. It sucked to drive everywhere but we never paid for parking once. Also, there is no beach at this resort. There is sand with chairs but no water to get into. The sandy area overlooks the Gulf but there is no way to get in the water. Overall we were pleased with our stay, the room was clean and the pools were great. We never ate or drank at the cafe located at one of the pools because it seemed pricey. In conclusion, if you don't mind the distance from the noise and busy nature of Duval St. this resort offers a very relaxing stay in Key West, FL.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_e_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,410
    1,007
    357
    171
    95
See reviews for
1,295
1,497
76
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Beautiful Little getaway on the island of Key West. Loved the small secluded pools and the porch and sand right out the back of the room. Leaves some decision making on how you get down to the main part of the island due to its north/east location but all and all a beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This resort is nothing more than a Holiday Inn except that it costs a small fortune. There is no beach period. The rooms (porches) are right on top of each other and every window looks into another room. The four pools are large tubs and they are all shaded so you will not get much of that warm Florida sun. A Caesar salad at the pool bar is $15 and served with attitude. You can get a better salad from the fridge at Walgreens in the parking lot. That's right. In the parking lot. This "Resort" shares it's parking with a drug/liquor store and a huge Home Depot. It is nice to open the patio door to your expensive suite and listen to the parking lot music from the store lamp post speakers. You can get away from that noise by going into their Fitness facility. It is a large closet with outdated marginal equipment.

Now for the bad news. They slip a "resort fee" onto your bill after you check out. I found it on my credit card bill a day later (They were closed at the front desk when I checked out at 6:15 AM !!). They charge you $25 per day on top of their exhorbitant rates and multiple sales taxes... I called about the "resort fee". The nice lady explained that it was for the nice millionaires that own the facility to reinvest in their resort. You know, upkeep, cleaning... I told her I didn't think that was appropriate and that it was underhanded and equivalent to mugging someone in a back alley. She told me (Donna) that she would tell her manager but in her opinion I was "screwed".

I will never frequent any of their properties ever again. I asked them to correct the injustice and they said we got your money, tough luck, buyer beware.

Key West has a lot to offer and a plethora of nice places to stay. Some are even near the beach or town. Parrot Key Resort has a beautiful website to bait you with wonderful pictures to entice you but they absolutely do not deliver. They are on a major roadway and completely surrounded by strip malls. There is a traffic jam in their driveway all day with all the cars coming and going to the stores in that same parking lot. The "beach" is trucked in sand and if you do not have a room on the sand you will be standing in someone else's space trying to look through the scrubby mangroves to see a small bay with strings of power lines on poles going through it towards the backside of the naval base.

For the record, this is my first bad review. I research my travel very thoroughly and generally have very good results. The lady at the Parrot Key office was right. I got screwed. Your money is better spent elsewhere. These people will prey upon you at every opportunity.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ding77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The resort is beautiful. The ambiance is unbeatable. As you walk through the property you are surrounded by beautiful plants and flowers. The smell is wonderful! The four pools ensured we were never crowded or cold as they are heated! The location is great and close to everything we need including Duval St! I will definitley be staying at Parrot Key again when I am in Key West!

Room Tip: The view from anywhere on the property is great but if you get a pool side room you have a better ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrsti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Parrot Key. The grounds were breathtaking and the pools were amazing. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool. Our suite was spacious and clean. The staff was so nice and attentive. They helped with advice on what to do and what restaurants to eat at. We highly recommend staying at this resort. When we vacation in the Keys again we will stay at Parrot Key!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have nothing but high praises for Parrot Key Resort. It is just a short bike ride or cab ride to the beaches and old town, but doesn't have the chaos of the rest of Key West either. The staff was very courteous and attentive, and if you really want to know the lay of the land, you must get in contact with the resort manager Mr. Bacon. He was so very knowledgeable & helpful in recommending sights and activities that our whole family could enjoy, as well as where to go for the best night life in Key West! Parrot Key is the only place I'll ever stay in Key West!

Room Tip: Corner Suites are spacious and have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Beware! The room rate is not the full rate.
We stayed 2 nights and the place was nice enough with 4 pools (why 4 you may well ask? And I have no idea).
The staff are pleasant enough and the resort is 5 minutes drive to Duval Street. It's handy!
What really annoyed me was the resort fee. ($26 a day or $53 for the stay)
Why isn't this extortion just included in the room rate? It isn't voluntary. It took our room rate from $134.10 per night to almost $200 a night including taxes.
I asked at check in what the fee included hoping for maybe jet skis, snorkelling equipment or maybe a paddle board. Nope none of these.
It was explained that this fee goes back into the resort? Then why not call it room rate? It certainly feels like another case of Key West hustle.
Apparently a number of places in Key West charge resort fee. I say call it room rate and stop the deception. Not good enough I'm afraid.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 48 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing