We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Key Largo
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable

Unfortunately boiler out of commission so had outboard motor but cruise and Captain were excellent... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed today
Cdntour
,
Barrie, Canada
Cool Trip on African Queen

For anyone who considers the African Queen an iconic movie, a trip on the real African Queen is a... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 4 days ago
Fearless05858163215
Read all 911 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Key Largo
from $32.83
More Info
from $65.65
More Info
from $60.52
More Info
from $56.42
More Info
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveler rating
641
171
68
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
641
171
68
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam engine humphrey bogart movie history piece of history actual boat movie fan favorite movie great history unique experience boat ride the atlantic ocean open water holiday inn captain dave take pictures fun trip bucket list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 911 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Such a fun thing to do for a couple of hours. Really enjoyed the informative talk about the history of this boat. Where else can you do this in Tge world

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Nomad68151776652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

As a little girl, my favorite movie was "African Queen." I never imagined one day I would be travel around the Florida Keys on the iconic vessel. Thank you for a once in a lifetime experience!

Date of experience: April 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jwozniak8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Captain Dave was great . He was full of information and was so friendly. My husband even got to take the helm (that was the highlight of his day). I would recommend this venture to anyone who has watched the movie

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Daydream191228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

If you liked the movie, you will love this cruise. If you hated the movie...go do something else. There is a picture book of the stars and some behind the scenes stories about the production of the movie. That was fun and very informative. It was fun to see the steam engine working and we even got a chance to tiller the boat!

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Exploration796874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

Too many have never seen Humphrey Bogart starring in his only best-actor-Oscar-winning role and actress Katharine Hepburn in the 1951 movie, African Queen. John Huston directed this film, selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry in 1994, with the Library of Congress deeming it "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant." The "stage" for most of the movie is a dilapidated steamboat traveling down the "Ulanga" river. Much of the film was shot in Uganda and the Congo.

Through a long series of events that the captain will describe, the boat, itself, ended up in Key Largo. They retrofitted a period steam engine that looks like the one in the movie. On the day we went, our captain was dressed as the coarse Charlie Allnut, played by Bogart in the movie. He showed actual photographs of the filming and answered all the questions. Then, he "started" the engine.

With 20 pounds (per square inch) of stem, he opened a few valves, took a large set of channel-lock pliers, twisted the crankshaft back and forth a few times and it started chug, chug, chugging, just like in the movie. Then we were off, going out about a mile out and returning.

The boat only holds six passengers, probably for safety reasons. Don't get in a hurry. You can run faster than the boat, but you cannot run on water and you cannot run on steam. If you want to step back in time or just, as I did, revel in the age of steam, this is for you.

We spent a week traveling up and down the Florida Keys and stayed in a condo whose double balconies overlooked paradise, but the African Queen is my favorite of the entire week.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank lynwoodgivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews