We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

African Queen Canal Cruise
Ranked #6 of 71 things to do in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 2012 the iconic boat the African Queen was restored for her 100 year centennial celebration. In May 2012 she once again began plying the waters of Key Largo and currently offers canal and dinner cruises. We go out daily at 10am, 12am, 2pm, 4pm and 6pm. On Fridays and Saturdays at 6pm we offer a dinner cruise to the Pilot House Marina where passengers disembark and enjoy dinner in the restaurant before boarding the vessel once again to return to the Marina Del Mar. Dinner and lunch cruises are also available on request for groups of at least 4 people.
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was a little skeptical of how interesting this would be but from the initial contact with the ticket seller to the end of the cruise it was a great experience. You don't have to be a fan of the movie The African Queen to enjoy this trip. The skipper dresses the part (Bogart) and gives a full history of the boat. You then get the opportunity to watch a 100 plus year old steam engine come to life and propel the boat a quite a reasonable speed down the canals of Key Largo. You have the chance to steer the boat if you desire and get to peek at the expensive homes that line the canals. They also have a large book of photos from the movie and some props should you wish to reenact some scenes. You will also draw lots of attention from those onshore. Great trip and well worth the money especially if you are a movie fan or are interested in remarkable engineering.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blueswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    106
    53
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hour and a half on the African Queen (Yes the original)”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you love the movie you must take this wonderful cruise. The original African Queen has been rebuilt in the original form and you can take a cruise. I got to pilot the boat for about 15 minutes and have lots of photos and videos. The captain has a album of original photos from the movie shoot and how they repaired the queen. He will also give you the history of the boat and its travels around the world. It chugs along at a slow pace just like in the movie.
So if you are ever in Key Largo take a ride, its great

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olsenecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England.
Level Contributor
262 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“My husband made a great Humphrey Bogart”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I couldn't wait to do this trip - in fact, we booked in the UK to ensure a seat and stayed at the Holiday Inn adjacent to the African Queen berth. It was worth the wait. We were very lucky to be the only two aboard, (maximum 6 people allowed) with Captain Wayne at the helm. He was very informative and a great guy to spend 1 1/2 hrs with. He let my husband steer while I was happy to play Katherine Hepburn aboard.

A little expensive but well worth the money - I would return again and certainly recommend to others.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Essjay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wewoka, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
381 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored African Queen”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Although the 4 of us chose not to do the $49 canal cruise, we were able to get up close and personal for pics of the African Queen. She is definitely an old beauty with her working steam engine and nostalgic striped canopy. There are Bogart pictures and history on the landing pier near her berth. A free must see if in Key Largo!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“African Queen Alive and Kicking!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The African Queen canal trip is well worth it for all ages - especially the ones that have seen the movie! The boat was restored beautifully and the steam engine is something super unique. Probably the only time you are going to be near an authentic steam engine.

The guy selling the tickets is real nice and the captain was great.

Worth it if you want to do something different.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SoleCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Queen Canal Cruise also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to African Queen Canal Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing