We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, history, good food, got to drive the boat”

African Queen Canal Cruise
Ranked #6 of 71 things to do in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 2012 the iconic boat the African Queen was restored for her 100 year centennial celebration. In May 2012 she once again began plying the waters of Key Largo and currently offers canal and dinner cruises. We go out daily at 10am, 12am, 2pm, 4pm and 6pm. On Fridays and Saturdays at 6pm we offer a dinner cruise to the Pilot House Marina where passengers disembark and enjoy dinner in the restaurant before boarding the vessel once again to return to the Marina Del Mar. Dinner and lunch cruises are also available on request for groups of at least 4 people.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun, history, good food, got to drive the boat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautiful cruize into the sunset on the Key Largo canals on a piece of History! And Captain Mike was full of knowledge and you could tell he loved the boat and the history of it and telling the story. As we chugged along the canals people came out to take pictures of the boat...it was so fun. The only surprise was at dinner. The boat accomodates six people. There was a party of 4 and then my husband and I. When we got to dinner we assumed that my husband and I would get a table to ourselves but the restaurant where they take you has a corner all set up with photos from the movie and a table for six so you are sitting with the people you take the boat with. It worked out well for us because the people we went on the boat with were lovely people we really liked but I could imagine it could ruin a meal for some it you end up with a "crowd" you don't mesh with. I suppose they would have sat us seperate if we had asked. But it's something we may have wanted to know in advance...if you aren't all together do you want a separate table? ....so it's not akward when you get there. Anyway- the food was great. They take your order before you leave on the cruize and you have a choice from about 4 different things for dinner and a few apps. Then you cruize back - nice and quiet cruise in the dark past all the lights of the beautiful houses and boats along the canals. Just beautiful. We had a fun time - would totally reccomend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LJandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    104
    51
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
932 reviews
423 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 715 helpful votes
“The dinner cruise would have been excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

OK, the title is a guess, but anything added to the cruise itself would have made it even better. And for those who notice the TA reviews that are less than Very Good, please also note that they all predate the inaugural cruise in May 2012, so the reviewers were simply looking at a boat at the dock. You may also notice reviews for another African Queen cruise in Mexico. It sounds like a great cruise, but this one is th ORIGINAL boat.
First was the reservation process - quick and effortless with no hitches.
Next was the dockside experience - We highly recommend taking the first cruise of the day. It is worth it to watch the start-up process, and to experience the effort involved in keeping a somewhat eccentric 2-stroke motor going on its first run of the day. You also get a good chance to see the historic boat at dock.
Once on board, you have a knowledgeable captain. Ours was Captain Mike, who was informative, entertaining and obviously proud of the boat as he gives you its history. You get to look through an album of unique and arguably priceless photos centering on the filming of the movie, its stars, and visiting luminaries. You also get to see a few props that enable you to recreate scenes from the movie in your own pictures.
The canal itself is always an interesting cruise on any boat, but it's even better when you're at the tiller of a 100 year old boat. The captain essentially gave me the tiller once we cast off, and only took it from me once at my request and once when a more experienced hand was needed. I even got to dock the boat, which was more fun than I've experienced with other boats.
They provide water, but make your restroom stop before arrival.
Maybe a one-time experience, but don't miss the one time!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience on a piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful evening cruise down the quiet canals to a great meal. Very enjoyable - we were told the history, and viewed the photographs taken on the film set of African Queen. A fun evening.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank karval52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great history, great ride, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful evening. Captain Mike was fantastic. Food great. Night sky gorgeous. A fabulous way to spend an evening in the Keys.

Helpful?
Thank Trilammom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

It was mellow and low "key". The narrator/ captain was very informative and easy going. It lasted about 1 hour 1/2 and was worth it. Take your camera to take cool photos along the ride.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurette2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Queen Canal Cruise also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to African Queen Canal Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing