We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa #11 Kawama Yacht Club- Key Largo FL”
Review of Kawama Yacht Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kawama Yacht Club
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Villa #11 Kawama Yacht Club- Key Largo FL”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We rented Villa #11 during August 2010 and we LOVED it. f My husband & I have an eight year old daughter and this was everything we were looking for. We were a bit skeptical about renting a villa on-line.. but we were very happy we did. Vivan & her husband met us at the villa and showed us around.. they gave us great advise on plaes to eat and activities - they immediately made us feel welcome. The unit is very nicely furninshed and has everything needed to enjoy a great vacation. There is a wonderful fish market within walking distance and we really enjoyed cooking & eating on the huge downstairs patio. The view from the unit is really lovely.... There is a wonderful jetty located at the end of the property that is the perfect place for fishing or watching the sunset. The grounds are very clean and I felt very safe taking my early morning walk every day. We are hoping we are able to make an annual visit to Kawama Villa #11.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Coltone427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    49
    14
    12
    12
See reviews for
100
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Arrived early evening after a long flight from the UK to find a very comfortable and clean home from home. We have twin boys aged eight who loved the ground floor bedroom and space all to theirselves. The living space has fantastic views over the marina and ocean. Outside is great with good relaxing and barbeque area. The use of the golf buggy is a must to visit all that Kawma has to offer, three great pools, private beach, lagoon and fishing pier. We had such a great two weeks visiting alot of the keys, got home and rebooked for May 2011.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lousuzBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We rented a townhouse - R-3 in the Kawama Yacht Club complex, and we had a great relaxing vacation. This property accommodated our family of younger kids and older teenagers as well as a mother-in-law! The owner of this property - Norman Wartman - was very helpful and knowledgeable about everything related to Kawama and then some. The house was fully equipped with everything we needed - including Kayak usage, floats for ocean or pool, bicycles, tennis rackets, snorkeling equipment,( though we brought those ourselves). There was two small pools to use which worked out nicely for the younger kids. There is a small lagoon - where you can go snorkeling which is home to the community's pet tropical fish that the kids enjoyed feeding. We had usage of the owner's golf cart for those amongst us with a valid driver's ID. We went fishing off the community jetty and saw beautiful sunsets there too! It was relaxing away from the hubbub of the main route #1. General food shopping and basic items are within a few minutes drive. We would go back to this place again !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LLaury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed at the Kawama Yacht Club for two weeks July/Aug2010 (self, wife and kids ages 16 and 12). We rented Villa No 1 (holiday-rentals.co.uk reference 234495), a lovely 3 storey villa with three big bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 3 superb living areas with great views and equipped with everything you could need. The villa is right on the water at the side of the marina, full of boats used by guests/residents. There is a private beach but during our stay this was weeded up (time of year ?), with a long jetty that was great for fishing and snorkelling. We saw dolphin, tarpon and barracuda from the jetty. The complex has two nice pools for villa guests (and one for guests in the apartment tower block), plus a large saltwater lagoon that is also good for swimming and snorkeling. Several good restaurants within a 10 minute drive and plenty to do otherwise, particularly water sports. There are two large supermarkets within 5 minutes. We did not have a problem parking t the Villa as it had it's own space, but the rest of the complex appeared OK as well despite the number of boat trailers ! Other residents were friendly. Would not hesitate to stay here again, great base for exploring North (Miami) and the Keys (2 hours to Key West)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dazzer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We arrived in the area at 1pm. We called the owner, who seemed to be a nice man. We were told the unit would be ready shortly. As we got closer to the resort we called again. The owner stated that the previous tentants had not moved out and were refusing to leave. It was not 3pm (check in was 1pm) still no unit. Finally, after 5pm and driving around for hours, we were told the unit was ready. You could not enter the unit from the front. You must walk to the back of the unit. Other owners have blocked the walkway so this is very difficult. The furniture on the patio was old and rusted. The screened porch was filthy. The owner was very apologetic, he said the cleaning was not complete and that he would finish cleaning the linens. The previous tenants left the place a mess. Sand, hair and dirt was everywhere. This could be a nice unit with all of the upgrades if it was properly taken care of and cleaned after each use. The loft is not really a loft. It is a pull down attick wi th pull down stairs. If you leave the stairs down, you would be hard pressed to walk down the hall to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. We worried about safety for the older teens who would have stayed there. There was no way to lock the doors to the unit. I felt sorry for the owner who was obviously working very hard to clean up the mess by himself. The previous tenants were irrate that they were asked to move to another unit for the remainder of their stay. But, we had reserved this week. We had a family discussion and decided we just could not stay in this unit. We were not about to spend our vacation cleaning the unit just so we could possibly stay. We phoned the owner and explained the situation. He did offer another older, smaller unit, but at this point we had been up for hours. We were tired and just wanted to relax. We called the security office and were given the name of a local realitor. She was wonderful. She had us in a gorgeous tower unit within 20 minutes. By this time it was 9:30pm. She told us where to find the lock box and allowed us to go into the unit while we waited for her to come over. The unit was wonderful ! Clean, comfortable and well maintained. She was a life saver ! What started out as a very stressful event, turned into a really nice time. We haven't heard from the first owner. He did not offer to return our deposit despite the obvious error. We have probably lost our deposit, but we would have lost a peaceful vacation had we stayed in the townhouse.

I would highly recommend the tower units !

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lschubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Our family stayed for 1 week at Jose's condo and was very satisfied with the accomodations. The owner was friendly and helpful. There is so much to do in the area surrounding the club. We traveled with family who stayed in #412 and they were also very pleased with the condo they had. The week flew bye. Wish we were still there! The Jacobs Family Westwood, Ma

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Rebecca Roe goes out of her way to make sure everyone had a good room, good rate, and great dives. 4 of us booked rooms and dive trips through her! The result is we had an excellent place to stay and the best prices on scuba dive trips. I will always book through her as long as she continues to provide this service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fox_Cousteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
949 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawama Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawama Yacht Club

Property: Kawama Yacht Club
Address: 1500 Ocean Bay Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4238
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 198
Also Known As:
Kawama Yacht Club Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing