We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilot House

Pilot House
Reserve with OpenTable
Pilot House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 134 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pilot House Restaurant is a local's favorite and a Key Largo landmark. You can choose to dine outside at our waterfront Glass Bottom Bar overlooking our five star marina. Then again, if you're looking for a more private experience consider dining indoors in climate controlled comfort. All dining experiences offer a selection of beer, wine, cocktails, fresh local seafood and shellfish prepared a variety of ways, a broad choice of appetizers, sandwiches, steaks and deserts. For the little ones we have a full "Kids" menu.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Passed by this restaurant many times, but never had stopped in. Decided it was worth a try.
Glad we did! We had a fish dish that was perfect. Salad was excellent. Fresh rolls went perfectly with everything. A plus was watching the fish underneath us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    420
    173
    77
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The kids loved feeding the fish off the dock and peering down the plexiglass windows - if they are happy, then that makes me happy. The food was solid. I got a grouper sandwich that I really liked. My husband got fried shrimp. The shrimp themselves were super fresh and tasty, but the batter was bland. Maybe opt for a different shrimp dish. The kid's sliders were actually really good so I bet the burgers here are too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank QuietKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, ok atmosphere”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My skirt steak salad was delicious, although I don't think it was skirt steak. My husbands lobster dish was too die for and the fried key lime pie dessert was a perfect ending to a great meal. We enjoyed the music and it kept our kids entertained. Even a little dancing before we left finished our visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of potential but did not deliver in it....what a miss.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The location and atmosphere are spot on however the hostess, wait staff and entertainment leave much to be desired. After clearly requesting and outside table for eleven. We were escorted after a thirty minute wait to a table inside...not...then a table outside that seated eight...are you kidding me right now! After sitting our kids at a separate table out waiter finally made his way over. Clearly making no effort to keep orders or tabs straight repeatedly dropping beverages to the wrong person and needing repeated reminders for refills etc even bring a glass of wine ordered during dinner out after we already finished dessert and had requested the bill. . the menu was not particularly impressive bit the food was good...no complaints there. Service was slow, food was good especially the calamari and paella, and the karaoke grade entertainment was mediocre at best. Skip this one for some better options on the island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were very happy with service and the food was delicious.. prepared with thought and caring. Probably the best paella that I have had in a long time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank crashvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot House also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Tavernier, Key Largo
 

Been to Pilot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing