We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of Pilot House

Pilot House
Reserve with OpenTable
Pilot House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 134 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Pilot House Restaurant is a local's favorite and a Key Largo landmark. You can choose to dine outside at our waterfront Glass Bottom Bar overlooking our five star marina. Then again, if you're looking for a more private experience consider dining indoors in climate controlled comfort. All dining experiences offer a selection of beer, wine, cocktails, fresh local seafood and shellfish prepared a variety of ways, a broad choice of appetizers, sandwiches, steaks and deserts. For the little ones we have a full "Kids" menu.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Spot”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I ate here twice for dinner on a recent 5 night stay. We both just love this restaurant.
The food, service and atmosphere were just wonderful. You can eat outside near the marina or inside, which ever you prefer. On the marina side the dock has glassed covered areas with lighting so you can enjoy seeing fish. Can't wait to visit again

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yukonted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    438
    185
    79
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Glass bottom bar”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went for dinner in hopes of seeing some fish while we were at dinner. There wasn't much to see until they turned the underwater lights on. Then the fish really came out!

Food was good as well. The real attraction is the atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cincykeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience - Eat Dockside!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It was fun eating dockside being able to see down into the water! Since it was getting dark I thought we were going to miss out but they have underwater lights and you can see the fish very easily. The best part was the food. We had fresh fish and it was all great. The waitress was friendly and made some excellent recommendations. We had it recommended to us by a resident and he told us it's a local favorite. Reasonably priced too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave12345_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Right on the marina!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sometimes a "marina" restaurant sits back from the water. This one sits OVER the water. A couple of locals recommended this restaurant, which is always a good sign! On our first visit, Betty, our server was excellent and recommended items from the menu. The food was good and served quickly. Prices are reasonable. On our second visit we arrived about 11:30 am for lunch. There were only 2 other customers but none of the servers came to wait on us. Finally a younger woman came to our table yawning and putting on her apron. It was obviously the start of her shift and we were at her table so the others couldn't wait on us!
We saw Betty again, this time she was the hostess. She came to our table and spent a few minutes talking with us. Because of Betty I am giving this restaurant a higher rating.
I would still recommend this restaurant because of the view and decent food prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1gamblergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Waterside eatery in Key Largo Great for early lunch”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staying at nearby hotel, a little peckish at 11am, looked up this place in guide book, so popped along, its not always easy to find a good eatery on the waterside in the Keys when you are just passing thru, but this place is only minutes off US 1 highway and well worth the stop.
We were the first people in at 11am and the staff could not have been more friendly, coffee and water straight away and the food, was excellant! fish mahi sandwich and a classic burger for my wife, both were fresh and wholesome, wifi as well, stayed for almost 2 hours, no pressure from staff to leave or buy more, looks like the place can really rock at nights as there is a band stage and plenty of music posters around, plan it in for trip next time on your way to Keys, its better than Wendys!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJM50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot House also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Tavernier, Key Largo
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Pilot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing