We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT GOOD....DO NOT Waste your hard earned money ..stay somewhere else!! go down the road to Marathon, Fl!!!!!”
Review of Gilbert's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gilbert's Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Marathon, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT GOOD....DO NOT Waste your hard earned money ..stay somewhere else!! go down the road to Marathon, Fl!!!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very dirty!!! The room as well as the property was filthy and not well kept!! Very loud. A lot of families. Children running everywhere. Do not go at the time of year when it may be too chilly to run air conditioner. The noise from the A/C was the only thing that kept us sane. The tiki bar and restaurant were VERY expensive. The first 2 nights we stayed on the second floor and were told it had a view of the water. We may have been able to see water if they cut the tree tops back. They were so overgrown they were starting to come onto the porch. We asked to change rooms for the last 3 nights of our stay so we could be on the canal. They accommodated our request. There was a front door and a back door to the room. Our door was located on the dock. We had a shared deck on the canal. The deck was filthy!! Cigarette butts everywhere and 2 marijuana roaches left from other guests. Our son, who is in the Navy and stationed in Norfolk, VA., flew into the Miami airport to stay the week with us. What a disappointment for us all. If we hadn't had to prepay for the room we would have definitely moved to another resort. We bought our 22 ft. boat with us because it is free to use their boat launch, however, good luck finding a parking space for one vehicle, yet one with a boat in tow!! VERY small parking lot. As a matter of fact we had to park about 1/2 mile from the room because there was no parking space available for us. The restaurant/bar is open to the public so they take up most of the parking spaces!! We could have found one if we were to try and park after 2am or before 12:00pm. The owner is very rude!!! It was like the entire staff was doing us a favor letting us pay them for staying there!!!! The concern for their guests, unless they were family, was non-existent. Horrible customer service!!!!!

Room Tip: Look at the room before you agree to stay in it. Make sure they have at least cleaned the toilet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    103
    76
    65
    134
See reviews for
121
193
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked on Friday 8/29/2013 checked in and place looked dirty! Walked in the room it was a DUMP am fighting to get my money back! And this was a word of MOUTH NEVER AGAIN BUT I DID NOT HAVE MY CELL WITH ME TO TAKE PICTURE DAMN

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

toronto
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The proprietors were friendly and helpful but the rooms were horrible. The furniture was warped and looked like the room had flooded out and they hadn't replaced the furniture. The room was spotlessly clean, that is about as much as I can say positive. The beds were not comfortable, the pillows were threadbare, and the a/c was an old window unit and so loud we couldn't sleep with it on but couldn't sleep with it off because it was too hot. Backing right on the waterway was beautiful and we enjoyed the location and the tiki bar was nice but the place needs a serious overhall. Not worth the $100 we paid to stay there.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, pick the ground floor. Second floor seems to be coming loose from the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiancaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family and I were looking for a place to stay in Key Largo as a mini vacation. Looked online for various hotels and Gilberts definitely caught my eye, the place looked real good ONLINE. When we got there the outside was not bad, nice atmosphere and around the beach area it was very nice, we had to wait a couple hours because our room wasnt ready. To waste time we walked around the back area of the room and it was disgusting! Cigarettes all over the porch area, HORRIBLE smell. I wasnt liking the way this looked at all so asked one of the house keeping ladies to show me inside the room. Nothing compared to what it showed online, so disgusting, there where bugs everywhere and the smell was horrible. Dirty and out dated, I immediately walked to the office and asked for my money back, they discounted 25 dollars. Never stay at this place, horrible horrible service. They need to remove these pictures because this is false advertisement.

Room Tip: Dont choose a room, its gross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Again I want to make it clear I didn't stay at the hotel so this review is just for the restaurant. I love the atmosphere, the live music, the seating selection ("indoors" and sitting on the sandy area under the umbrellas), the docks and several bars and the "vacation" feel of the place. We live in Miami and had driven past this place a few times until finally we decided to stop. We were there for about 5 hours it was so relaxing we didn't want to leave. We had beer and champagne so I can't vouch for the mixed drinks which other reviewers say are on the light side. We had the coconut shrimp appetizer which was really good with sweet tangy coconut sauce served on the side. The raw oysters, according to my husband were great and fresh. They do serve oysters rockefeller if you like them covered with cheese and spinach but it was a hot day so he went with the cool version. The fish basket has 4 generous pieces of fish and you can get that with sweet potato fries or regular fries. I ordered the grill fish sandwich. It was a nice portion but I was disappointed in that it is served on regular bread - bummer. It also comes with two slices of American cheese which I found to be salty, I usually cook/eat with very low salt. I got mine with sweet potato fries and they were also good. This is not a 4 star resort where people dress in linen outfits and heels, this is a totally laid back, shorts/tshirt, key largo kind of place. There is a beach area in the back which we didn't visit and the restrooms are across the way from the restaurant but they are nicely air conditioned and clean. Recommend this place for a nice relaxing lunch. They open at 11am.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank made1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

my friend Jenny works here so please ask to sit in her area & tip her well, she works hard & takes care of her customers!!! leave your attitude back home cause in Key Largo it's laid back & life's fun ..... this place is HUGE!!! is family friendly, boats can dock next to the place & the band is usually one of the best!!!
I have eaten almost everything on the menu except chicken, cause who wants chicken with fresh seafood in da house :) drinks were strong & good. we had a great time but my friend didn't even get time to stop for a minute.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubacinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We wanted to leave as soon as we saw the room but it was non refundable so we stayed. There was a frog inside and two dead cockroaches on the floor. There was a layer of dust under the bedand the bathroom was very out dated. Terrible service at the tiki bar, the waitress was very rude. Couldnt see the bottom of the pool through the water so that was obviously dirty as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,517 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,444 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
13.4 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.0 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilbert's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilbert's Resort

Property: Gilbert's Resort
Address: 107900 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-3126
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilbert's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gilbert's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilbert`s Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing