We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gilberts”
Review of Gilbert's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gilbert's Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Hotel is average. If you stay on the waterfront first floor rooms, you will have to share a patio. I wasn't to thrilled about that so we spoke to the management and were able to change rooms.
Food at the Tiki bar was good. Mosquitoes were really bad, but its that time of year... Sep 11

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iamjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 541 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

In 32 years of being married this was the most deceiving place we have every stayed and along with that osha would love to pick this joint apart - no hand rails on their ramps leading upto thier filthy rooms , drawers won't close on their furniture and the shower looked like it came from a prison --- no one should ever stay here. The owners are into pure profit and no maintenance

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

First of all, this is not a resort. This is simply a motel with almost nothing special. It is by the ocean and has a tiny pseudo-beach. We haven't dined in the restaurant so I cannot tell anything about it. However, we spent a terrible night in the room and there is nothing even slightly positive can be said about it. The room is dirty. Beds are a joke and consistent with the dirtiness of the room of course. All these are kind of okay for the price but the main problem is mosquitoes. They will hunt you down from your car to the room like a bad memory and bite every available piece of your body. I have no idea why the hotel management do nothing about them. There is also AC which works well but it produces a noise that can intimidate Beethoven. It never stops until you turn it off(if you dare..it is hot) If you are brave enough to stay at this place DO NOT forget your bug repellent. Apply it before you enter the premises, not in the room. Very close to Key Largo diving scene but frankly, try to pay couple bucks more to save your body and soul.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emrah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed her because we came with friends who were staying at this same hotel. It's right under the bridge that leads you into key largo. The rooms were the nastiest rooms we have ever stayed in. The night stand and other furniture were sticky with filth. You get plastic hangers in your room that you would get if you bought clothing at k-mart showing the size. The shower tile looks like its been painted over many, many times and is falling apart. The floor was nasty and you don't want to go without shoes. There's no microwave and no iron. The beds look really, really old. Paint chopping off the doors. Stuff splattered on the walls. We put plastic on the beds because we were worried there were not very clean. They have not spend any money to fix up this place and the rooms are very run down. I would have cancelled to go down to the holiday inn express if it were not for our friends. There is a tiki bar, a restaurant, marina and beach which were not that bad which is the only thing I can say that's good about gilberts. Well, the beach in inside a harbor, so I would go elsewhere for the beach. The food is ok, not horrible but not the best. Bottom line is beware before booking here. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank froggy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This resort is "old Florida Keys". Very laid-back and friendly. A great mix of bikers, familys and couples looking to just chill-out, eat and drink.
The Tiki Hut bar and breakfast nook are great. The hotel (old) is quite run down, but we had a blast and stayed 2 nights. Diane in the office is very friendly and nice.
Our room (king size bed) was old, but functional and right on Jew Fish creek.
Sit and watch the boats go by, have a drink and relax.
4 or 5 stars...no way: a dive bar/motel with great people and live music almost all day.
We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncleroyhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at Gilbert's while on a Motorcycle Trip through the Keys. Although I have read many negative reviews, we decided this was what we were looking for at a reasonable rate. Yes I probably would not bring my wife to stay here but my brother and I both Military Vets, have stayed in much worse. OK it is old, needs paint, and updating but it was clean and the staff was friendly. So if you are looking for Bare Bones with a great Tiki Bar, then this is for you. Great location and view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GESVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great location, right on the water - I guess we weren't expecting much except mediocre bar food, and were absolutely delighted when we got a meal that was so much better! In particular, the Mahi Mahi kebab. Big succulent pieces of mahi mahi, grilled to perfection, with grilled squash, and fries - absolutely superb. Was not expecting that. I had Caesars Salad with blackened chicken, which wasn't bad, but I was definitely envious of my husband eating that mahi mahi. When I go back, that's what I'm going to get. It was a great location, superb water views - we left in a hurry as the giant mosquitoes invaded us and boy, these suckers were not shy - not like most mosquitoes that hover a little and then slowly come in for the kill - these guys attacked us - had no shame pouncing on our face and necks - so we scarpered quickly but we WILL be back, next time wearing insect repellent. Great casual fun atmosphere too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank chewedpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,584 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,605 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
689 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#5 of 17 in Key Largo
666 reviews
6.8 mi away
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilbert's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilbert's Resort

Address: 107900 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-3126
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $158 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilbert's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Gilbert's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilbert`s Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing