We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of Coconut Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We had a lovely couple of days at Coconut Bay. Our room was tastefully furnished with a wonderful view of the coconut palms and water's edge. The room was very clean with plenty of towels provided. Lovely comfortable bed and a choice of keeping cool with either the air conditioning unit or ceiling fan. The toiletries provided were of good quality and it was really handy to have a fridge, microwave and coffee machine in the room. The use of kayak's was a good idea (even though we realised we're no good at it!) - we really got the giggles! I found the staff very friendly and helpful - I think maybe they responded to how they were spoken to in the first place?!
The best bit of all though was the backdrop to the magnificent sunsets and seeing manatees feeding off the jetty..... you can't put a price on the wonders of nature.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shamlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 171 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2009

The resort is nice. It has kayaks and paddle boats for use which are fun and a nice pool. The room was very clean and nice.
The down side of the resort is the staff. They were very unfriendly to the point of being rude. I tried to ask the maid a question and see literally stared through me like I wasn't there and never responded to me. The front desk people were very rude and short with there answers to any questions or requests.
Also there is no swimming in the pool after dark and in October that meant 7:00pm. So if you out exploring all day and plan on coming back to the resort after dinner and going for a swim (like we did) forget it. There are no phones in the room or on the premises for use.
We had a really nice time in Key Largo but ended up just being at the "resort" to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raingirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We chose this resort based on reviews from Trip Advisor and I am glad we decided to stay here. We stayed in unit 26, a king room with a porch and water view. The room was a decent size and included a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Coffee cups and eating utensils were also provided. It was also nicely decorated in tropical decor and the bed was very comfortable. We had a terrific porch and view of the small swimming beach that also had a small lounging area with plenty of sunning spots as well as plenty of shade provided by lovely palm trees. What a great sight to wake up to each morning!!!

The bathroom in the unit was a little small and a bit outdated but very clean. We were provided with plenty of towels, including beach towels. There were also nice toiletries provided. There wasn't an iron or hair dryer provided in the room but I was able to check them out from the front office. There was a swimming pool that looked very inviting but we did not use it. If we are ever in Key Largo again, I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Our first review, we gave Coconut Bay a 5. This time, we had to slower the rating. Though we still consider this place a gem, with a great staff and good location, we had to update our opinion. We didn't use the pool on our first trip. The pool needed some serious care. The water was not so nice...in fact nasty. Our room had a small patio but nothing adequate for sitting out like our first room did. The water pressure was terrible. We did have a better little kitchen area this time. We were told we had to stay 3 nights because of the holiday but we found out that many of the other residents were only here for 2 days. The best change between our stay in December and our stay in May is that the internet service had improved.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We were looking for something small, modern and right on the water and this worked out fine. There are only a few rooms/free standing "buildings" between this resort and it's sister resort, Bar Harbor Lodge. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated with bright tropical colors. I liked that each room also had it's own little patio set outside. We stayed in the middle of the grounds, no road noise and just a few quick steps to the water. There are plenty of chairs and lounges around, as well as a small pier and a paddleboat and kayaks that are free to use (we saw tons of horseshoe crabs and rays while kayaking). The location is good, just north of Tavernier- you could walk to the big Shell World store and there is a Dairy Queen a few miles south and many stores, restaurants and Pennekamp Park within a few miles north. Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks are both a quick hop in the car down the road. There is also a small pool which was pretty clean and very warm. The only negative comment I have is that the "beach" was a little disappointing. I know the Keys have few real beaches, but we had just come from staying at the Continental Inn in Key Colony Beach Marathon (highly recommend, see my TA review) and didn't realized how spoiled we had been with their beachfront. No fault to the owner of Coconut Bay, the water was just a bit more "natural" than we like. A soon as you step in the water, there is quite a bit of plant life and some jellyfish/anemone-looking things that are everywhere on the bottom and you can see them opening and closing. They don't sting, but between those, an occasional blue crab, and the dense plants, you really don't know what you're putting your foot on with each step. None of the four of us even considered swimming in the water and we only saw one brave couple attempt a quick snorkel out the whole time we were there. Standing at the end of the pier one day, we did see a large ray. This is supposedly a high manatee area, but unfortunately we never saw one during our four day stay. View of sunsets was nice.
Overall, I would recommend this place if you are looking for clean and quiet and not so interested in a nice swimming beach.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serenity37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Coconut Bay Resort was exactly what we were looking for in a Keys vacation. We wanted a quiet, small boutique property, preferably with a suite or apartment room layout, and Coconut Bay delivered. We stayed in room 6, adjacent to the main office and with a partial view of the bay.

I loved having a kitchen so we could make snacks or breakfast as we pleased, but the location is also convenient to get out and about for lunch or dinner. With a well-stocked Publix grocery store not too far away, it's easy to do your own thing without having to rely on always going out for drinks or meals. We had a BBQ grill and table just for our room, but there is a communal grill and tiki hut with picnic benches down at the beach.

The grounds of the resort are beautiful and lush. You have the choice of sunning on the private beach or retreating to the shade of the palm trees by the boat launch. Likewise the pool deck has a good ratio of sunny to shady spots to relax and the water was still heated (or at least felt that way) when we were there in mid-April. Felt like swimming in bathwater, which I prefer to a more "refreshing" dip in the pool.

Our room had a queen bed, and two twin-size daybeds/lounges in the living room. A/C is by window units in the living and bed rooms, but ours were not loud fortunately. Being close to the office, the wifi signal was strong in our room, but the bandwidth could vary. The only nit I would have to pick is the tiny hot water heater. I could barely get through a shower before running out of hot water. We had to plan ahead and stagger our showers so that we both could have hot water. However, I do recognize that we take longer showers than most, so others may not be affected by this.

We saw no manatees, had just missed the peak season for them, but we did enjoy taking out a kayak and exploring the mangroves nearby. The sunsets from the dock are spectacular; this is the real reason to get a bayside resort!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Care824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

This is our third time to the Keys and our third time at Coconut Bay. We love that it is clean, clean, clean and so quiet. Lots of room on the grounds. The rooms were all full the whole time we were there (5 days), but you never felt crowded either sunning, swimming, or sitting on the dock. We sat on the picnic tables each morning for coffee and drank wine on the dock each afternoon to watch the amazing sunsets. There were a few very elderly folks there and young couples with children. A great mix. Most of the folks were returning to Coconut Bay - and no wonder; it is a great place to stay. We enjoyed taking out the kayaks (saw a manatee while we were out). A couple of great places to eat: Mandalay Bay (had the early bird special), Alabama Jacks, and Rib Daddy - all had very different types of food and ambiance, but all were very good. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCNana3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
595 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,550 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,522 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Resort

Address: 97770 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2228
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $162 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Bay Resort, a cozy bay front resort situated on 2.5 acres of lush tropical foliage. Whether you are planning a relaxing get-a-way or an action packed vacation, our amenities and location put the Florida Keys at your fingertips. With just 6 rooms, customer service is never a problem. Bay Harbor Lodge is our sister neighboring hotel with 15 additional rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Coconut Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing