We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of paradise!”
Review of Coconut Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trim, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little taste of paradise!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this resort in Sept and have to say we loved it! Lovely welcome when we arrived :-) The staff were very pleasant and John proceeded to look after us. When we mentioned that it was out 20th wedding anniversary , John wished us congratulations and upgraded our room! We were very pleased about this:-) Every morning we enjoyed the complementary homemade scones particularly the pumpkin and choc chip mmm..made by the owner herself! :-) resort has a pool which was a plus for us. But most of the time spent just sitting listening to the sea lapping gently on the private beach! We would highly recommend this resort. It was close to supermarket and restaurants too. All in all an amazing place to just relax and soak up the sun!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    36
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
60
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a 2 week Florida trip, and it was the perfect place to relax at the end of a hectic trip.

We had a large cabin for 4 adults with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large kitchen/living area with a private deck across the back leading to a private beach just for the resort. We got a lovely view of the bay and the sunsets from our deck. The cabin could have been a bit cleaner but came with its own vacuum and the kitchen was fully stocked with plates glasses etc and a full size fridge freezer. The only downside I had was I didn't find the bed very comfortable and therefore didn't sleep very well, but that's just my personal preference for a hard mattress. It did mean I was up nice and early to enjoy breakfast on our deck!

Overall the grounds in the resort were very well kept and everything was catered for, you could even take a peddle boat out for free into the bay. We did have an issue with the booking via a 3rd party site (we had booked for 2 nights but for some reason the site only told the hotel 1 night), but they were able to amend this so we could stay for 2 as planned.

Room Tip: We stayed in 25/26- they have a joining door so perfect for a group to open up into one large cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzleb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a beautiful small, quiet, family or couples resort, perfect for a restful break or longer holiday. Everything you need is here, lush well established gardens, pretty and comfortable well-equipped self-contained cottages, each with BBQ and outdoor dining area, comfortable beds, wonderful friendly customer service from the owner and Team. Owner lives on site; this is a well-established and clean resort. Nothing is too much trouble. Facilities on site include a pool (cooled in summer!), two north-shore beach-style coves for wading, snorkeling or swimming, kayaks, pedalos, shaded areas with loungers, a tikki hut by the water, a small boardwalk into the bay, and fabulous sunset views in the evening. Plenty of on-site parking or park beside your cottage. We went in July, the weather happened to be perfect, and we will go back in the future. Resort is close to nice restaurants, and only a short drive from John Pennekamp State Park and other attractions. Resort is easy to find yet totally secluded. You have to go!!

Room Tip: Cottages 1 through 4 are closest to the water. We stayed in cottage 7, and we still had a water vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickleton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were supposed to travel down to Key West ...but after getting into the 'relaxed' key spirit we just stayed our entire trip in Coconut Bay. It is in the perfect little slice of heaven. While there are many places in the keys that look great on their website and then disappoint in person, I can honestly say that Coconut Bay delivers!!! cleanliness, friendliness and that "KEY" experience that you are heading here to get. The owner was wonderful in recommending places to eat/drinks/ sightseeing . and those SCONES!!!!.....sshhhh don't let anyone else know..... but they place fresh scones out every morning with the free coffee for the guests!!! I meant to ask for the recipe but forgot.....oh well, at least I have another reason to return.
Also the bayside water access is wonderful for those looking to do a little snorkeling or even diving. I took myself right out into the water directly in front of the resort and saw baraccuda, a dolphin and a MANATEE!! Normally I NEVER dive alone but my buddy was on shore sick and I was only 25 feet from the getty in less than 10 feet of water. Very safe with no boats pulling in close to the resort to block your sunset views.
I will be returning in December to recapture that "KEY" feeling and I will be sitting right on the getty with my glass of wine and my best friend Mr Pelican. Thank you Coconut Bay for wonderful memories.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeMayBeachBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Wow. This place is really special. We have only just left & are trying to eork out how quickly we can get back!
Perfect location - an hour from miami - and only a day trip return to Key West.
The staff (and owner) are just wonderful!
We stayed in cabin no. 2 right on the waterfront. Beautifully styled, perfect sized and the airconditioning is wonderful.
They provide snorkeling gear - and you can snorkel right off their pier.
Every morning there were the most amazing scones - all gorgeous flavours - and fresh coffee for guests - made by the owner. Yum!
Thank you for a beautiful break! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathiecatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights and had a fantastic stay! The grounds are well maintained and so beautiful! The rooms are very clean, spacious and very comfortable. There are grills on the grounds to cook your own and dishes supplied. The pool is very relaxing, very warm and surrounded by lush greenery and palms. The owner makes scones each morning and serves with coffee. Very well run and friendly. The sunsets are not to be missed and they also provide kayaks and peddle boats, no charge. You will not be disappointed by any room but will go with an ocean view cottage next time!

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank songlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lovely location on the shore ideal for travelling down the keys & to everglades. We had room 22 for 3 nights and would have liked to stay longer. Very comfortable queen beds. If staying more than a few days splurge on a cabin even if just 2 of you.No 3overlooks the sea. Friendly helpful staff.amazing home baked scones & coffee available every morning. Will recommend to friends & family. Very close to Dolphin Cove,a must for a fabulous experience swimming with dolphins.

Room Tip: Cabins/ 1 bedroom cottages better for longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Harbor Lodge
Bay Harbor Lodge
#1 of 20 in Key Largo
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Resort

Property: Coconut Bay Resort
Address: 97770 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2228
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Bay Resort, a cozy bay front resort situated on 2.5 acres of lush tropical foliage. Whether you are planning a relaxing get-a-way or an action packed vacation, our amenities and location put the Florida Keys at your fingertips. With just 6 rooms, customer service is never a problem. Bay Harbor Lodge is our sister neighboring hotel with 15 additional rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coconut Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing