We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
“Relaxing and Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

We enjoyed every minute. My grandson had a blast. Had to almost drag my daughter out of the water to go get something to eat. We ate at the Ballyhoo restaurant which is right across the street and the food was delicious. We brought other things to eat for breakfast and our own drinks and snacks. We actually brought stuff for lunch but never ate lunch because we were out enjoying the water and kayaks. The room was clean/no bugs/ comfortable. We caught some small fish off the dock and released them. The pool was refreshing after being in the salt water all day. Plenty of places to sit in the shade and relax. We had a great time.

  • Liked — Kayaks and the relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upsidedownjellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    33
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
52
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2007

When my wife and I lived in Miami we looked for a place which was close enough to us that we could get away, and relax with our then newborn. We loved it then, and have grown fonder and fonder of Cocount bay Resorts and it's staff with every trip. The first time we went some 3 1/2 years ago from the date of this review they were doing renovations to the cottages, rooms and grounds, which has made a charming, intimate place even more appealing. There is a well balanced set of intimacy, privacy and security, in some lush grounds, within easy walking distance of some of the top eateries in Key Largo, and within 101-5 mins drive of some of the better known establishments, very close to the bird sanctuary, very near to a family run breakfast/lunch/dinner restaurant (The name slips me at the moment, but I will update the review when I remember (they moved to key Largo from Ohio)

Great sunsets! very relaxing. It's not seven miles of white sand beach, nor is it crystal clear blue ocean water, but you couldn't ask for a more tranquil, relaxing spot far enough away from everything to really relax, but close enough to amenities if you need them.

The rooms are clean without seeming sterile and impersonal, we have stayed in five separate rooms/cottages and have been really pleased with the quality, cleanliness and level of amenities provided.

We now live on the west coast of Florida in Sarasota and we have been back six times since we first went, and will continue to do so, and plan to get both our respective families down there at the same time in the near future.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Organised, The Staff
  • Disliked — Size of the Beach
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Zickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2006

I love Coconut Bay and Bay Harbor Lodge!!!!!!! (they are 'sister' resorts - they're owned by the same lady and on the same grounds) It is the best hotel in Key Largo!!!!
We usually stay in a room that has two queen beds and a pull out single bed with a full kitchen (which I think is important, because the good places to eat in Key Largo are very few and far between) for about $125/night in August and we bring our two small-ish dogs for an additional $15/night. It is clean clean clean! And updated! Plenty of clean, bleach-smelling towels, and dishes you are not scared to eat off of! Just remember to bring things like paper towels. And any room you get is steps to their beautiful private beach with tiki hut and grills! We see manatees off their docks every time we go and we use the free kayaks to get an up close look at these gentle giants. There is a 'grass bed' off the beach that you can wade in that has tons of critters (small fish, harmless nickel-sized jellyfish, hermit and horsheshoe crabs) and you can swim and snorkel right off the dock!
Last trip, in August of 2006, we brought my in-laws and my family, and my 15 year old brother did not watch TV or play a computer game once in 3 days!! We went snorkeling off a charter boat, and then he kept himself busy with hand feeding the squirrels, swimming off the dock, and kayaking. His only complaint was that we had to leave so soon!
Great hotel, quaint, beautiful ambience, helpful staff!
Can't wait to go back for the fourth time in April 2007!!!!!

  • Liked — so cute!
  • Disliked — not many restaurants - but that's all of Key Largo - not hotels' fault
  • Tips/Secrets — If you don't have pets, book the room with the porch/deck that faces the water!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lilwaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

Our family had a great vacation at the Coconut Bay. We moved into a larger unit when we arrived, and the extra bit of money was well worth it. From our kitchen/living room area, we looked out beyond the porch to the beautiful palm-laden grassy area and beyond, the Gulf. Everything was simple, very clean, and well-cared for. The staff, from the cleaning folks to the front desk folks to the gardeners, were friendly and very helpful. We took out kayaks each morning (complimentary) and the paddleboat later in the evening, to watch the sun set. It was a bit of old Florida...brought back memories of my childhood in 1960s Miami. If you're looking for upscale, with lots of high tech conveniences, you might not want to stay here (though the kitchen had obviously been recently redone and was exceptionally clean and modern). But if you want a lovely, affordable place, out of the hubhub...you couldn't do better.

Helpful?
7 Thank yesyesyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
5.9 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Resort

Property: Coconut Bay Resort
Address: 97770 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2228
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Bay Resort, a cozy bay front resort situated on 2.5 acres of lush tropical foliage. Whether you are planning a relaxing get-a-way or an action packed vacation, our amenities and location put the Florida Keys at your fingertips. With just 6 rooms, customer service is never a problem. Bay Harbor Lodge is our sister neighboring hotel with 15 additional rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Coconut Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing