We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think "clean, older college apartment"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Key West Inn - Key Largo
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Think "clean, older college apartment"”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a stop for us to snorkel the next day and then finish our drive down into the keys. The room was clean and huge (2 stories, full kitchen, screened in porch, small dining area), but clearly an older building. It's right on a channel and there is a snorkel place that leaves from under the hotel. The best way to describe the place is a clean older apartment complex that you would see in any college town. We checked in after the room was closed but our keys were left out for us with a note (complete w/ smiley face) asking us to swing in and sign the registration before we left in the morning. The price ~100 bucks made this a pretty decent room for what and where it was.

If you're a diver, there are places next door and across the canal. There is also a gas station in walking distance for the basics.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eodryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    178
    109
    58
    61
See reviews for
143
231
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Christine was WONDERFUL! she helped me reserve an extended stay at her property! she was patient and kind! She is the kind of person every hospitality agent should model after ! True customer service skills!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The property needs some work. Units ok, but nothing special. Pull out couch/bed the worst I have ever seen. "Resort Fees" for dumpy little pool plus charges for room safe. I don't know how it got all those 5 star ratings when it's a basic efficiency unit with only 3 of the 4 burners on the stove that work. (Control for largest one removed & taped over.)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TampaTygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

Hamburg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose the Key West Inn in Key Largo for our stop-over from the Keys back to the mainland so we weren't looking for anything special, just a good deal to spend the night.

The staff was extremely friendly, our room was ready even though we arrived earlier than regular check-in time.
The room was huge, it was a 2-story appartment with a screened porch (facing the marina), a living room with huge flat screen TV, a fully equiped kitchenette (oven, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, toaster and even a dishwasher) and a bed room in the 2nd floor (with ensuite bathroom).
We could park our car (free of charge) directly under our appartment in the shade. They also have a pool (which we did not use) which looked nice.

Here are the PROs and CONs:

PRO:
+ Friendly staff
+ immediate check-in even though we arrived early
+ free WiFi with good signal
+ nice private porch
+ very quiet at night even though US1 is directly around the corner
+ full kitchen with anything you might need

CON:
- no elevator to the appartment so if you have heavy luggage (we had!) or are slightly disabled, you'll have problems (as well in the 2-story-appartment with the narrow stairs)
- the furniture was kind of worn, the appartment was not 100% clean (the cupboards and tables were sticky and dust was attached to the greasy sticky cupboard-doors (the bathroom was ok though).

All in all: if you are just looking for a place to stay for one night, this is a good deal and a perfect location. If you would like to stay longer and feel really comfortable, look for another place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 311 which is a fully equiped appartment (2 stories with stairs). It was really quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttvvuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 2013 and thought the place was a great deal! Very roomy, 2 storey townhouse with a screened in balcony right on the boat channel. There are 2 bathrooms, one upstairs and one on the main floor. The décor and furnishings are dated, sure, but the place is relatively clean and well-kept. The outdoor pool is situated overlooking the canal, and there are dive and snorkel tours available right out front.
The only problem we had is that when we first checked in, we were told we could get a room with a king bed instead of a queen, if we were willing to wait an hour because it was just being cleaned. We decided that was worth waiting for, but when we returned in an hour and a half, a new person was at reception. She told us the people in the king room decided to extend their stay, but we're pretty sure the room was given to someone else in the meantime. Unfortunate that we wasted time waiting for something we didn't get, but at least the rest of the stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet, ask for a room down at the far end away from the bar across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_to_Tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We loved the screened-in patio. It was very relaxing to sit and unwind after a long day. There is always something to watch whether it be the dive boats loading and unloading, the nightlife at the bar across the canal, or the comings and goings of The African Queen which is parked just down the canal. The huge amount of space is great so I thought it was a great value for the price. Noise is not an issue if you close the door.

Room Tip: All rooms have stairs so don't stay here if you are unable to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went to key west inn with low expectations due to the cheap price and were pleasantly surprised! What you get is a lovely clean apartment with tons of space and lovely hosts. would have no trouble recommending to anyone. In this case you get much more than you pay for.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
9.0 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Inn - Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn - Key Largo

Property: Key West Inn - Key Largo
Address: 201 Ocean Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4325
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key West Inn - Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our two level, townhouse style suites are approximately 1,000 square feet in size and consist of a master bedroom with queen size bed, a living room with a queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Also included in your suite is a kitchen with full size refrigerator, range, microwave and dishwasher. All units feature a private, screened balcony that overlooks our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Key West Inn - Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Inn - Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing