We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but a little worn and untended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Key West Inn - Key Largo
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Hamburg
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good value but a little worn and untended”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose the Key West Inn in Key Largo for our stop-over from the Keys back to the mainland so we weren't looking for anything special, just a good deal to spend the night.

The staff was extremely friendly, our room was ready even though we arrived earlier than regular check-in time.
The room was huge, it was a 2-story appartment with a screened porch (facing the marina), a living room with huge flat screen TV, a fully equiped kitchenette (oven, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, toaster and even a dishwasher) and a bed room in the 2nd floor (with ensuite bathroom).
We could park our car (free of charge) directly under our appartment in the shade. They also have a pool (which we did not use) which looked nice.

Here are the PROs and CONs:

PRO:
+ Friendly staff
+ immediate check-in even though we arrived early
+ free WiFi with good signal
+ nice private porch
+ very quiet at night even though US1 is directly around the corner
+ full kitchen with anything you might need

CON:
- no elevator to the appartment so if you have heavy luggage (we had!) or are slightly disabled, you'll have problems (as well in the 2-story-appartment with the narrow stairs)
- the furniture was kind of worn, the appartment was not 100% clean (the cupboards and tables were sticky and dust was attached to the greasy sticky cupboard-doors (the bathroom was ok though).

All in all: if you are just looking for a place to stay for one night, this is a good deal and a perfect location. If you would like to stay longer and feel really comfortable, look for another place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 311 which is a fully equiped appartment (2 stories with stairs). It was really quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttvvuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    179
    112
    59
    64
See reviews for
148
235
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 2013 and thought the place was a great deal! Very roomy, 2 storey townhouse with a screened in balcony right on the boat channel. There are 2 bathrooms, one upstairs and one on the main floor. The décor and furnishings are dated, sure, but the place is relatively clean and well-kept. The outdoor pool is situated overlooking the canal, and there are dive and snorkel tours available right out front.
The only problem we had is that when we first checked in, we were told we could get a room with a king bed instead of a queen, if we were willing to wait an hour because it was just being cleaned. We decided that was worth waiting for, but when we returned in an hour and a half, a new person was at reception. She told us the people in the king room decided to extend their stay, but we're pretty sure the room was given to someone else in the meantime. Unfortunate that we wasted time waiting for something we didn't get, but at least the rest of the stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet, ask for a room down at the far end away from the bar across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_to_Tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We loved the screened-in patio. It was very relaxing to sit and unwind after a long day. There is always something to watch whether it be the dive boats loading and unloading, the nightlife at the bar across the canal, or the comings and goings of The African Queen which is parked just down the canal. The huge amount of space is great so I thought it was a great value for the price. Noise is not an issue if you close the door.

Room Tip: All rooms have stairs so don't stay here if you are unable to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went to key west inn with low expectations due to the cheap price and were pleasantly surprised! What you get is a lovely clean apartment with tons of space and lovely hosts. would have no trouble recommending to anyone. In this case you get much more than you pay for.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked it through Rainbow Reef dive shop, not really expecting much but we come to the keys to dive not hang around the hotel. Having said that the place was laid out decent no complaints with anything but the bed.... It was no good other than that it was a pretty good value

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuba2mcski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I'm really surprised this place doesn't have a better rating! The room was very clean, had it's own kitchen, two bathrooms, a small living room area, and the bedroom was upstairs. It was basically a small townhouse. It even had a screened in porch where you boats and a waterway. I liked it alot, especially for the price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntr93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

You get a lot of space for your money at this hotel. It's pretty clean for the price range. Rooms are outdated and lobby sn't staffed overnight are the major downsides. Would be perfect for a guys weekend or a cheaper group stay. Full kitchen is nice and plenty of space with a living room, upstairs bedroom and two full bath.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportfishtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
9.0 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
402 reviews
2.5 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Inn - Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn - Key Largo

Property: Key West Inn - Key Largo
Address: 201 Ocean Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4325
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key West Inn - Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our two level, townhouse style suites are approximately 1,000 square feet in size and consist of a master bedroom with queen size bed, a living room with a queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Also included in your suite is a kitchen with full size refrigerator, range, microwave and dishwasher. All units feature a private, screened balcony that overlooks our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Key West Inn - Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Inn - Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing