We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great accommodations, but really lousy wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Inn - Key Largo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Key West Inn - Key Largo
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Key Largo
MORENO VALLEY
Level Contributor
535 reviews
249 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Great accommodations, but really lousy wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice 2 story suites with full kitchens backing to a channel. The wifi is terrible, but if that doesn't matter to you, than I highly recommend this place. Great price considering how expensive this area is. I liked backing to this channel because there was lots of activity: Diving and snorkeling boats coming and going, active bar/restaurant across the channel. Be sure you have two remotes for your TV, I didn't and front person didn't know where the other one was, had to wait for the next day when maintenance person was there to get that solved.

I wish the screening on porch was roll up or sliding. At this time of the year, you don't really need it, bugs aren't rally bad like the summer. Ceiling fan in patio would have been nice. But if wifi was fixed, I'd stay here again. LOTS of restaurants nearby. Snorkeling boat tix selling at premises.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a flat screen, they are changing them out right now. The noise of the bar might bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    164
    99
    51
    52
See reviews for
128
208
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is a split level timeshare type accommodation with full kitchen. Must take steps to get up to unit and then unit is split level with bedroom upstairs. Clean but dated. Balcony overlooks canal which was nice. Sheltered parking. No amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, etc. Okay considering price and location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen and Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This townhouse is set up nicely for staying a week or more except for limited amount of kitchenware. I did not appreciate being lied to about having HBO! hadn't even asked about it. When we checked out I asked them to remove the phone and safe charges ($6--since we didn't use them) and they did so. We loved relaxing on the screened-in porch facing the canal including the live music which ended about 10 pm. The short walk to the boats on the canal provides access to all sorts of water-sport businesses including the African Queen! I appreciated having three separate areas to spend time in: balcony, living room w/TV, and upstairs bedroom w/TV and second bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlrmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks you for taking the time to review The Key West Inn at Key Largo. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your suite and the surrounding areas. I apologize about the HBO. We do have the channel, but there was some issue with the service provider. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This place is quite old and shows its age in places.
However the rooms are really large and very comfortable. Better than that we were able to shop at the local Publix and cook for ourselves in the fully equipped kitchen.
Great spot to stop but don't be mislead by the name of the place. It is in Key Largo and is over 80 miles to Key West.
Good value though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Key West Inn. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and our spacious rooms. We try our best to give our guest the best rooms at the best rates. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

These are extremely spacious townhouse style rooms. Downstairs you have a separate living room with queen sofa sleeper, bathroom with shower, kitchen with eat in table, full refrigerator, microwave, stove/oven and stocked with dishes and utensils. It has a very nice sized balcony with another table and chairs. The balcony is screened in, which I would have at times have liked to be able to open up and lean out but it does make it pleasant for sitting out there and watching the boat traffic on the canal. As others noted there is a bar across the canal with live music but it is the perfect volume, not intrusive and very nice to have as muted background noise sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine.

Upstairs is a large bedroom, with tons of drawer space, a full bathroom with bathtub, and a table with chair.

It was very clean, carpets, furnishings, paint, appliances, bathrooms were all in great condition.

They have a very nice pool, small but very sufficient. It looks over the canal and there are plenty of tables, chairs and loungers to relax on.

The location on the canal is phenomenal and it was only about 2 minutes to the dock where several dive/snorkel/boat rental operators are located. It is a quick drive to numerous restaurants, stores, shopping, etc.

Staff were great! Super friendly and welcoming. Parking is right outside your unit so no long trek with suitcases or groceries. Because of the size and layout of it you could comfortably have two couples sharing it (one upstairs and one downstairs) or great for a family without feeling cramped or crowded at all.

I will definitely be staying here again and recommending this to all my diver friends as a great diver's place to stay when diving in Key Largo!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calidenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Key West Inn. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our easy listening music over a glass of wine; thats what the Keys are all about. I am also happy to see that our spacious suites fit your needs. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Ok - the carpet & paint look dated, but bathrooms appear to have been updated. Each unit is like a one room two story condo. It had two full bathrooms & a kitchen w/oven, dishwasher,fridge and microwave. Went through Priceline, off season & Got a room for $89/night. Probably higher during peak tourist season. Each screen sunroom (off Kitchen at back of unit) overlooked the canal. There were not many people there so it was quite. In peak season, however, I expect you could hear people in the next sunroom to right & left of your unit. Still, it was cool to see the snorkle & dive boats going out in the morning and several operated at the hotel or walking distance, making it convenient to get your stuff, walk out of your room and get on a boat or jet ski.


The African Queen (from the movie) operates canal tours nearby - we got to see it go by - cool. Staff were pretty nice and helpful. There was a pool and it looked clean - also overlooking canal - but we did not use. Diver's Direct supply store was walking distance from hotel if you needed emergency water supplies. A glass bottom boat also operates within walking distance. A pub/bar/restaurant/dive center is across from the hotel on other side if canal. If your unit is directly across, it could get noisy. Our unit was further down the canal away from the pub.

I liked that we could open the windows & screen porch (sits at second floor level, parking under unit, so bedrooms are technically third level).

We did not have any issues with extra charges showing up on our bill as some had indicated. We stayed on two separate occasions on way to and from Key West. This is not a spiffy Hampton with cushy bedding, but it is very servicable. We would stay again, particularly if snorkling, for convienience to Sun Divers (I think that was the name). No beach access in the area around hotel, just the canal. Go to Bahia Honda if you want a nice sandy beach.

This is about a 2 star, but safe & well maintained, local mom & pop type hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are at same level, parking underneath units,. Further down canal from entrance is further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frugelmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Key West Inn. It seems you were able to experience all that Key Largo has to offer at a very reasonable rate. Im glad to see that you enjoyed our property and spacious rooms. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Got there late at night after landing at Miami, only stayed one night to break up journey to Key West. Lots of amenities (fully fitted kitchen) but poor water pressure and cold water on ground floor plus mould around windows and on shower curtain. Couldn't open net curtains to get to balcony. Would probably look to stay elsewhere if returning to the area. There was a pool there but we didn't try as left early next morning to continue journey to Key West. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polymoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#4 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#8 of 18 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
9.0 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#6 of 18 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Inn - Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn - Key Largo

Property: Key West Inn - Key Largo
Address: 201 Ocean Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4325
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key West Inn - Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our two level, townhouse style suites are approximately 1,000 square feet in size and consist of a master bedroom with queen size bed, a living room with a queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Also included in your suite is a kitchen with full size refrigerator, range, microwave and dishwasher. All units feature a private, screened balcony that overlooks our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Key West Inn - Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Inn - Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing