We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“soso”
Review of Senor Frijoles

Senor Frijoles
Ranked #32 of 135 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“soso”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I wouldn't go back ever.. just priced high again bad service food just ok. parking area is cramped. Very dark inside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fluakq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    169
    83
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When in Key Largo do not miss it.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a wonderful experience. The Margaritas were excellent, also did not expect the happy hour half rate for it. The service was good, friendly and helpful and the food was good too. I would recommend it highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aoteoroans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Wish we could really like this restaurant”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It had been a few years since we had been back to eat here and decided to give it another try. Sadly, it has not changed and still has the same flaws. As a local, I just hate being mistaken for a tourists. I realize that should not make a difference in service, but, it does.
The restaurant was not busy. Our waiter immediately took our drink order ( a margarita and a glass of house wine). A waitress was telling a near by table, where locals she apparently knew were sitting, it was "all you can eat taco night." Our waiter returned with our drinks and asked if we were ready to order, never once informing us it was "all you can eat taco night." When I said, "we'd both like all you can eat tacos," he had a surprised look on his face.
It was only a short amount of time when he returned with our (2 each) tacos and refried beans and rice plates. The ground beef tacos were good, topped with fresh lettuce and tomatoes and cheese. The rice was room temperature and dried out. The refried beans were a bit cooler than room temperature. It was obvious the plates had been prepared ahead of time, pulled from the refrigerator and placed under heat lamps.
He checked on us numerous times, asking if we wanted more tacos. We decided we didn't and he brought the check, never asking if we wanted desert or more drinks. The bill was a shocking $37! At any of the REAL Mexican restaurants in Homestead/Florida City, the same meal would be better (freshly prepared) and half the price. Sadly, it will be a long time until we give Senor Frijoles another chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wnbamiamisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Overall great experience!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Arrived early and were the only patrons. Ordered mango daiquiris that were the best we've have in the keys. Food arrived promptly and was delicious. Would definitely go back. Folks started filtering in ad we were leaving. Good value!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larmstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great sunset view”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We wanted to see the sunset so we dined on their outdoor patio. The view is a bit obstructed but we still got some great pictures. We ordered the mahi Mahi fajitas, fish tacos, and chicken tacos. Everyone enjoyed their meals but it got a bit chilly after the sun went down.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Frijoles also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Senor Frijoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing