We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Capt. Sterling's Everglades Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had a great trip! The captain was very informative and funny. We saw birds, learned about the mangroves and fossils. Saw a side of Key Largo that you don't normally see!
I would definitely recommend this trip!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    22
    5
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CINCINNATI
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice trip”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Knowlegable guide, saw manatees with babys, fun comfortable boat,smooth ride.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ELAINEANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Underwhelming and extremely overpriced.”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Our tour was $50 per person and only lasted a little over an hour.

Do not let the captain fool you if you're planning on taking a summertime tour- manatees are nowhere to be found at that time of year in the mangroves because they can't tolerate the water temperature. The only animals you will see in the actual ecological portion of the tour (about half of the tour) are very small fishes living around the roots of mangrove trees.

The other half of the tour was comprised of seeing a cut-away coral channel where some of the wealthier Key Largo citizens dock their boats. Besides some egrets and a few feral iguanas basking on fences, there's nothing much to see here and the heat was nearly unbearable.

The captain also stopped right outside of a captive dolphin swim facility where a bunch of depressed-looking dolphins were meandering around in a small pool with no toys or stimulation of any sort available to them. This part seemed particularly weird to me, until I found out that this charter and the dolphin facility are owned under the same company and he was trying to sell a dolphin swim to us. So if you disagree with dolphin captivity, do not support this tour!

Overall very underwhelming. Save that kind of money for snorkeling or a kayaking trip. If you want to see the part of the Everglades we went through, just rent a jetski or boat yourself for that price.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank purpledrank83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Provided a educational family appropriate boat tour”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This was a nice pontoon boat ride that lasted about 1-1/2 hours. Was educational. Got to see dolphin whales, other waterlife and learn about trees. Price was low for the experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a great experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We read the negative reviews for the Captain Sterling boat trips out of Key Largo but decided to see for ourselves and were glad we did. We toured the salt water area of the Everglades on the Eco-tour, boating through the mangroves and different channels throughout the bay as the other reviewers did. We were lucky enough to see wild dolphin, many manatee, great blue heron, cormorant, pelican and two types of white egret as well as more than a few iguana. Captain Dave is an informed personable guide gifted with sharp shooter vision to be able to spot the wildlife quickly so that we could enjoy seeing it. We were given adequate time and distance to view the wildlife while still showing respect for the animals. We did drive by Dolphin Cove but I'm sure that is to allow people to see captive dolphin in case there are no wild dolphin sightings. As with most trips of this type, they can't guarantee that you will see certain animals, especially when it may not be the right time of year for them to be present.

Helpful?
3 Thank AbbyandHolger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt. Sterling's Everglades Tour also viewed

 

Been to Capt. Sterling's Everglades Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing