We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”
Review of Ocean Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Reef Club
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is clearly a private club with some guestrooms, and not run or managed like a high end hotel. On the plus side, the grounds are beautiful and if you like to be on the water, you are surrounded by it. Good diving, boating and other related activities. However, not any real beach and while the pools are nice and overlook the water, they tended to be crowded and teeming with children. Except for early morning or late afternoon, it was hard to find a quiet spot to sit where you were not surrounded by people.

We stayed in a nicely appointed inn room with water views, but housekeeping was spotty.

Food was ok, at best, and quite expensive for what it was. Room service was pretty dismal, both in terms of food quality and service.

It was not an especially friendly crowd, and the members had no interest in interacting with anyone they didn't know. Not that I consider myself a highly social person, nor were we looking to make new friends, but a polite nod or acknowledgement when crossing paths seems like a basic minimal courtesy. Also, there are many places that are off limits to non-members - like the nice sitting area with bar out on the water and the better fitness center.

I don't know how anyone can put this in the same category as a Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton. While the rooms are fine enough, everything else is far inferior and you are a guest in someone else's home - not a guest at a fine resort. The staff did what they had to, and there were a few really good people, but overall not an especially sharp group.

I would say it's okay to stay here if one needs to be in the Keys for a night or two. But so far as an overall high-end resort experience, this is not the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Annie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    62
    39
    23
    19
See reviews for
87
52
1
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and i just returned from our second stay at this resort.The resort and the staff are great.It is deftinately a slice of heaven!Youcant help but to relax in this place The pools with the waterfalls are great as are thetwo beaches.

Room Tip: go water view itsa well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparky35196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Disappointed with the stay at the Ocean Reef club. Community is far to spread out with everyone moving around on golf carts. The "locals" are very vocal about not liking the guests in the community and the shops all close at sunset. We were put in a condo that was very much out of date in it's decor. Enjoyed the pool and amenities but the transportation and spread out nature of this resort leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

ORC is the perfect place to have a wedding. The catering manager, Kristi S., and the entire team at ORC thought of ever detail for the entire weekend. Four months later our guest are still talking about our wedding and wanting to go back.
The resort is beautiful with plenty of activities for everyone! We had 150 people attend and stay at the resort. ALL of them enjoyed their time at ORC...a few even extended their stay.
The pool is amazing, the golf course is fantastic, the restaurants offer delicious food with wonderful service, the rooms were spacious, clean and had beautiful views of the resort.
We look forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsbmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent location and service....... even though prices are high on food and acomodations...is a fantastic place.
We rented YI 301, is a small studio, ideal for a couple or a family of four,
the view of the marina from that unit is awsome!!!!, and the sunset unveliabable!!!! We rented another location in the same building before and the view was not that great and for the same price, so be careful.

Room Tip: YI 301 is a corner unit so has an extra window. Rooms at YI are very quiet. The viwe from this u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gisela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Came back this year and no Mosquitos!! What a difference that makes! Spend the extra money for the ocean view, the rooms are larger and include a balcony, some with direct access to the lagoon which is great if you have kids. Bring bug spray!!!! If it rain, the Mosquitos come out in full force.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

ORC is the best we had a wonderful 4th July Vacation. Even although it rained off the fireworks on July 4th ORC put them on again July 5th!
We stayed at a beautiful Inn room overlooking the lagoon and Ocean we will be asking for this room again and again Marlin building room 409 they also gave us the room next door 408 to make it a suite with a Murphy bed for our 15 year old son - perfect for all of us with 2 bathrooms. My husband accidently left his ORC golf shirt in the room and we went to reception 2 days later and were delighted to be hand delivered his shirt within 10mins - way to go housekeeping!

Room Tip: Room 409 in the Marlin building has an excellent view with a suite next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
20.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
25.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,308 reviews
18.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Club

Property: Ocean Reef Club
Address: 35 Ocean Reef Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-5263
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Club Hotel Key Largo
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing